Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

Dee Y

Moderators
  • Posts

    370
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Dee Y

  1. Yoda can restore both Force points by using his ability two times. Each Force spent by the friendly ship constitutes a separate opportunity for Yoda to resolve. The following rules... -While it performs an attack, a ship can spend any number of Force during the Attack Dice step to change that number of its focus results to hit results. -While it defends, a ship can spend any number of Force during the Defense Dice step to change that number of its focus results to evade results. ...simply mean that there is no limitation on the number of Force that may be spent during dice modification (as long as Force is available to be spent).
  2. No, they have different timing: "A ship moves through an object if the template is placed on that object when the ship moves. • If a ship moves through an obstacle, it suffers the effects of that obstacle." "• After a ship performs an action with an attached linked action, if the player wants to resolve the linked action, it is added to the ability queue."
  3. No, Scorch's (TIE/fo) ability may only be used during the initial roll. If this causes Scorch to roll 3 or more attack dice, Gideon Hask's (Xi-class Shuttle) ability may not be applied. Both of these abilities occur during the Roll Attack Dice step (step 2a): first Scorch, then Hask.
  4. Yes, when you transfer a lock, it DOES trigger effects that occur when you acquire a lock.
  5. The Rules Reference will receive the following edits: Flee A ship flees if any part of its base is outside the play area at any time. A ship that flees is removed from the game. • While a ship moves, the ship does not flee if only the template is outside the play area. • Before a fleeing ship is removed from the game, the only effects it resolves before being removed from the game are effects that trigger when it flees. • A ship cannot flee while resolving a boost, barrel roll, decloak, or SLAM. • Partially executing a maneuver can cause a ship to flee if this results in any part of its base being outside the play area.
  6. Rules Reference Update: The following changes will be included in an upcoming update. Flee A ship flees if any part of its base is outside the play area at any time. A ship that flees is removed from the game. • While a ship moves, the ship does not flee if only the template is outside the play area. • Before a fleeing ship is removed from the game, the only effects it resolves before being removed from the game are effects that trigger when it flees. • A ship cannot flee while resolving a boost, barrel roll, decloak, or SLAM. • Partially executing a maneuver can cause a ship to flee if this results in any part of its base being outside the play area.
  7. Yes, Experimental Scanners may be used to acquire a lock on any object not at range 1. Yes, R3 Astromech in conjunction with Experimental Scanners allows you to lock then acquire a lock on 2 different objects not at range 1.
  8. Yes, employ the ability queue to determine the outcome of interactions between Wounded Pilot and linked actions: -Wounded Pilot: "After you perform an action, roll 1 attack die. On a hit or critical result, gain 1 stress token." -Linked actions: "After a ship performs an action with an attached linked action, if the player wants to resolve the linked action, it is added to the ability queue." They share the same timing and both enter the queue. If you want to guarantee successful resolution of the linked action, resolve it first, prior to resolving the potential stress of Wounded Pilot. Note that not all linked actions are red, but if it is, there exists the potential to complete this interaction triple stressed.
  9. Yes, you may employ Ensnare to tractor a ship into range of a bomb before it detonates, assuming either that you control both effects, or you are first player and thus able to resolve your tractor effect prior to your opponent's bomb detonation. Yes, bomb detonations are abilities, and subject to the rules governing the ability queue. Yes, Sabine (crew) can tractor a ship suffering the effects of a friendly bomb into range of subsequent bomb detonation.
  10. No, Outmaneuver never has an opportunity to resolve on an RZ-2 A-Wing's turret attack. Turret arcs are distinct from all standard arcs, despite the fact that "the turret arc indicator points toward one of the ship’s four standard arcs."
  11. Yes, Darth Vader (crew) permits you to damage a friendly ship. If this destroys the ship, and Nash Windrider (TIE Interceptor) uses his pilot ability, the destroyed ship may engage immediately ahead of any other initiative. Simultaneous Fire would only apply to other ships destroyed "at the start of the Engagement Phase".
  12. Atomic Mass Games is adhering to the text as it is written. My original response is the official ruling, and also applies to the Countess Ryad (TIE Defender) with Interloper Turn interaction. Thank you for your thorough question, and "showing your work".
  13. Any ship with Genius (Astromech) must also have bomb(s) equipped in order to drop or launch them. Please note that Genius specifically refers to bombs, so mines or other devices would not function in this context either.
  14. No. Unfortunately, the timing for Precision Ion Engines is "before you execute..." while Ved Foslo (TIE Advanced x1) is "while you execute...". Precision Ion Engines does not have an opportunity to trigger before Ved Foslo can alter the maneuver.
  15. Yes. The ionized ship partially completes the forward 1 maneuver, skips its Perform Action step, finishes its activation and removes all of its ion tokens. Having done so, it is no longer ionized.
  16. No, Jake Farrell (RZ-1 A-Wing) must successfully perform a barrel roll or boost action in order to trigger his pilot ability. This is governed by the rule you quoted, and is also related to: "If an action fails, since the action was not completed, that ship cannot perform a linked action."
  17. No, the opportunity to add Hopeful to the ability queue has passed by the time it becomes active. The following two rules govern this interaction: "The abilities of a ship in reserve are inactive unless the ability explicitly allows it to be used while it is in reserve." "If a carrier ship is destroyed, before the carrier is removed from the play area, any docked ships can emergency deploy from their carrier." The trigger is the carrier ship being destroyed. When it is, the docked ship is still in reserve, and Hopeful is inactive.
  18. Treacherous resolves during the Neutralize Results step. "• While: This term is often used in combination with multi-stepped game effects such as an attack, an action, or a maneuver. Although less specific than the other timings, this term is used to narrow down when the ability is resolved during the round. Additional verbiage is required to identify when exactly the effect is applied. ◊ For example, in the context of an attack, if the ability rolls additional attack dice, the ability triggers during the Roll Attack Dice step. If the ability modifies defense dice, the ability triggers during the Modify Defense Dice step." Cancelling Hit or Critical results typically occurs during the Neutralize Results step, so this is also the proper timing for Treacherous.
  19. No, when you lock an object with an active False Transponder Codes equipped, you are instructed to lose its charge and jam the object. You must do both of these things to resolve the effect. Obstacles cannot be assigned non-lock tokens; you cannot jam the obstacle, thus neither do you lose the False Transponder Codes charge.
  20. Yes, each ship can place a device only once per System Phase, so if you drop or launch a different device, you are no longer able to drop or launch a Concussion Bomb.
  21. Your perspective is correct. The Eta-2 Actis has two completely separate primary weapons employing discretely distinct firing arcs. If you use the 3 dice bullseye attack, only the closest points within that specific bullseye firing arc are valid for the purposes of determining whether or not to apply the range bonus.
  22. Yes, Dalan Oberos (StarViper) may use his pilot ability while stressed. Note that this will result in multiple stress tokens on Dalan.
  23. Yes, Pattern Analyzer grants an action in this scenario. Pattern Analyzer grants an action after fully executing a red maneuver, before the ship gets stressed. This is distinct from the Perform Action Step action, which is the action denied by moving through or overlapping an asteroid.
  24. No, "While you defend or perform an attack" is a single opportunity, and Sunny Bounder (M3-A Interceptor) may only use her ability once during a single attack or defense.
×
×
  • Create New...