Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

AMG_Luke

Administrators
  • Posts

    388
  • Joined

  • Last visited

6 Followers

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

AMG_Luke's Achievements

  1. No worries! As per the FAQ ruling, "as though that ship had spent 1 force" implies "as if the ship had spent 1 force for the normal effect of spending a Force charge." Meaning that, Palpatine has the same effect as a ship spending 1 force to change one focus result to a hit/evade result. It does not mean that a player should treat the effect as if the ship had spent one force instead of Palpatine.
  2. Hello! On all X-Wing cards "you" refers to the ship with that card text. "You cannot spend force except while attacking." – "You" means Vader. Thus, Vader cannot spend force except while attacking. This does not restrict Emperor Palpatine from spending force while Vader is defending.
  3. Rules Reference Update: The following changes will be included in an upcoming update. FAQ, SPECIFIC CARD QUESTIONS Q: If a ship is affected by Padmé Amidala’s pilot ability and it modifies 1 of its focus results, can Emperor Palpatine [Crew, Empire]’s ability be used to modify a second focus result? A: Yes. The ship equipped with Emperor Palpatine (Crew) is modifying that ship’s second focus result, and not that ship itself.
  4. Question: Can a ship equipped with Emperor Palpatine (Crew) spend a Force charge to use a Ship or Pilot Ability on the target ship? Answer: No. Emperor Palpatine functions as if the ship had spent a force for the normal effect of spending a Force charge. A ship equipped with Emperor Palpatine (Crew) can either spend 1 Force charge while a friendly ship is performing an attack to change one of its Focus results to a Hit result, or while a friendly ship is defending to change one of its Focus results to an Evade result. Question: Can a ship equipped with Emperor Palpatine (Crew) spend a Force charge to change Darth Vader’s (TIE/D Defender) results while he is defending? Answer: Yes. The ship equipped with Emperor Palpatine (Crew) is spending the Force charge, and not Darth Vader (TIE/D Defender). Question: Can a ship equipped with Emperor Palpatine (Crew) spend a Force charge to change a Blank result to a Hit result while Darth Vader (TIE/D Defender) is performing an attack? Answer: No. Emperor Palpatine’s (Crew) effect can only be used for the normal effect of spending a Force charge. Additionally, the ship equipped with Emperor Palpatine (Crew) is spending the Force charge, and not Darth Vader (TIE/D Defender). Question: Does the ability on Padmé Amidala (Naboo Royal N-1 Starfighter) prevent a ship equipped with Emperor Palpatine (Crew) from modifying another ship’s focus result after that ship has already modified one of it’s Focus results and it is in Padmé Amidala’s (Naboo Royal N-1 Starfighter) primary arc? Answer: No. The ship equipped with Emperor Palpatine (Crew) is modifying that ship’s second Focus result, and not that ship itself. Question: Can a ship equipped with Emperor Palpatine (Crew) spend a Force charge as a part of the cost for the pilot ability of a friendly Fifth Brother (TIE Advanced v1) or a friendly Seventh Sister (TIE Advanced v1)? Answer: No. Emperor Palpatine’s (Crew) effect can only be used for the normal effect of spending a Force charge. Additionally, the ship equipped with Emperor Palpatine (Crew) is spending the Force charge, and not the other friendly ship.
  5. Hello! Shield tokens can only be used by the unit that "owns" them, in this case the landspeeder, so they would not be useable by a transported unit.
  6. Hello! It is unintuitive, but you are correct. Because the timing of the standby attack interrupts the normal sequence of an activation, the ion token would be removed without having any effect. A unit "checks" for ion tokens at the start of its activation, and removes any ion tokens it has at the end of its activation. There is no special rule for when ion is gained in the middle of a unit's activation.
  7. Hello, Luunta, glad to hear you're a fan of the A-A5 miniature! We also feel that players shouldn't be punished for the cool hobby and assembly choices they make. With that in mind, and since the A-A5 and LAAT/le are both unique in that the official minis can be assembled with doors open or closed, players should always treat both doors as closed for the purposes of determining line of sight through an A-A5 or LAAT/le mini. So, you're free to assemble your A-A5 any way you want!
  8. Hello, Floorf! Excellent question. Yes, a unit benefiting from the effect of Take That, Clankers! would be able to add a grenade upgrade weapon to their attack pool, against a unit with immune: range 1 weapons, because at the point at which the weapon is added to the attack pool (the Form Attack Pool step) it has had its range increased to 2, and is no longer a range 1 weapon.
  9. Hey Floorf! Happy to clarify! First of all, it's always valuable to come to an agreement with your opponent on potential terrain interactions before the start of the game. As a general rule, if the gap is big enough that the unit could stop its movement between the two locations and be at a different (lower) elevation, then it can't just move from one location to the other. It needs to check whether it could legally move onto the elevation of the second location. Remember that a miniature moves along the movement tool, it doesn't just teleport to the other end. So any rules that would apply anywhere along that move are relevant.
  10. Rules Reference Correction: In the “Wounds” entry the following bullet point should be considered added: A unit leader cannot be chosen to suffer wounds, unless it is the only mini in the defending unit that is in line of sight of the attacker, if it is the only wounded mini in the unit, or if it is the last mini in the unit. This bullet point was unintentionally removed in a previous update.
  11. Hello! I can clarify this for you. In the following sentence: "When a unit with the with the danger sense x keyword would remove any number of its suppression tokens, it may choose any amount of tokens up to that number to remove, including none." The second instance of "number" refers to the first instance of "number" and not to the "X" value of danger sense x. So for example, if a unit with danger sense Rallied and rolled two block/surge results, if could remove 2, 1, or 0 suppression tokens, regardless of whether it has danger sense 2, 3, 4 or whatever value. The numerical value of the danger sense keyword refers only to the maximum number of additional defense dice the unit may roll while defending.
  12. Hello! I'm happy to clarify the smoke token effects, here are the answers to each of your questions: 1. Yep! 2. Indeed! 3. In that scenario the defender does not gain cover 1 from the smoke token. A smoke token can only effect units whose unit leaders are range 1 of said token. 4. Note that the unit leader must be at range 1 (which includes within, but is different). But yes, this is specific on purpose. For ease of play, it is simpler to check the position of the unit leader, rather than each mini in the unit. 5. Correct, see previous answer. 6. Yep! Though, as I alluded to, it is simpler to determine than area terrain, since it only "checks" for the position of the unit leader. Let me know if that answers your questions!
  13. Hello! Great question! Yes, strictly speaking, more than one copy of Improvised Orders can be used in a round, however the effect of one Improvised Orders cannot "chain" into the effect of a second Improvised Orders - either to draw three order tokens at once or to draw a third order token after the picking one from the first two. The entirety of the effect of the first Improvised Orders must be completed, including "choosing to use" a token, before other effects can be triggered (such as another Improvised Orders), at which point the timing window when a second Improvised Orders could have been triggered is closed. As a general rule, game text (not reminder text) that is a full sentence is treated as a discrete effect and cannot be interrupted by other effects until is is completed.
  14. Hello! It would be the later; while Rex's weapon is a ranged weapon, the attack is still a melee attack, and thus no suppression would be applied.
  15. Hello! A unit loses incognito after it has defended against an enemy attack. Therefore, because a unit must legally be able to perform an attack to use fire support, the unit at range 3 would not be able to contribute to the attack made by another unit at range 1 against the enemy unit with incognito (unless that unit already lost the effects of the incognito keyword earlier).
×
×
  • Create New...