Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'cover'.

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Rules Forum
    • Marvel: Crisis Protocol Rules Questions
    • Star Wars: Legion Rules Questions
    • Star Wars: X-Wing Rules Questions
    • Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions
  • 666th Auxiliary Wing of San Marcos's The Baddies
  • 666th Auxiliary Wing of San Marcos's The Good Guys
  • 666th Auxiliary Wing of San Marcos's The War Room
  • 666th Auxiliary Wing of San Marcos's The Betweeners
  • Phoenix Fleet's Topics
  • Round Table Games X-Wing Joust Leagues's Our Star Wars X-Wing Joust League

Blogs

  • Marmoset Squadron's Blog

Calendars

There are no results to display.

There are no results to display.

Product Groups

There are no results to display.

Categories

There are no results to display.

There are no results to display.


Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


About Me

  1. Hello, by my understanding, when determining cover we must follow a repeating 3 steps. 1- Checking LOS from the top of the leader of the attacking unit and then, if any part of the defending mini is obstructed we should go to step 2, if no part is obstructed that mini would not have cover and the process is finished for that mini 2- drawing a 2D line from topview and if that line crosses the piece of terrain that mini would get the cover of that piece 3- repeat for each mini and if half or more of the minis in the defending unit get the cover, then the whole unit would have the cover of that piece is this the right way of determining cover or I'm getting something wrong?? thanks!
  2. When two models are on the same terrain(apartment building) but out of range two, would they gain cover if attacking each other? otherwise, height has nothing to do with gaining cover if all three conditions are met correct?
  3. On page 8 it mentions as a general rule a model needs to be half blocked by terrain to gain cover. On page 31 under the cover rules there is no mention of the "half blocked" statement for a model to gain cover Is the page 8 statement just short hand and the real rules for how models gain cover page 31?
  4. Hello Does REPULSOR HOVER GROUND vehicles (like AAT or SABER) benefits from cover while they are on some kind of elevation or they must be obscured in 50%? Also same question for REPULSOR SPEEDER X type vehicles (like STAP, Airspeeder or Speederbikes) - does they benefit from higher ground cover like troopers or they also need to be 50% obscured by terrain? Thanks
  5. The red player has an AT-RT with the laser cannon (impact 3). When it shoots, the center to center line crosses through the red A-A5. Would the blue bus benefit from cover granted by the red bus before applying impact? (no models touching, AT-RT has arc on the bus (no extra impact from weak point) Thank you. 🙂
  6. Does rocket lose cover within 2? Or does he always have it? We played a game today with the former. But someone said he always has it even within 2
  7. I believe you roll and calculate success and damage (which will be applied) before any "before damage is dealt" effects. Do I lose cover I have if wolverine hits me with berserker barrage from outside Range 2? Place within 1 before damage is dealt, but do we not calculate all the attack results prior?
  8. Hello there! I have a question about determining cover for a model (single-mini unit) that is hiding on a rooftop behind a chimney. The chimney is roughly in the middle of the roof and the whole building, including the chimney, is treated as a single piece of non-area terrain granting heavy cover. The attacker is at the same (or slightly higher) elevation as the defender, so the building itself does not get in the way. The defenders silhouette is partially oscured by the chimney, but the center to center line between the bases does not pass through the chimney. I have attached a very rough Paint diagram of the situation (black is the terrain piece, red are the models; the grey square marks the chimney, but as mentioned the whole thing is treated as a single piece of terrain). The cover entry (page 31-32) of the RRG states: "If any part of a defending mini, including its base, is blocked by a piece of terrain, the player then traces an imaginary line from the center of the base of the attacker’s unit leader to the center of the base of the defending mini. If the imaginary line crosses the piece of terrain that blocked line of sight, the defending mini is obscured." (page31) "When determining whether an imaginary line traced between the centers of two minis' bases crosses a piece of terrain, the line is always treated as horizontal to the battlefield, on a two-dimensional plain. A player should look down from above the battlefield to determine whether the imaginary line crosses a piece of terrain." (page 32) The question is: Does the defending mini have cover in this situation? And a follow-up question: Should we treat the "look from above the battlefield" described on p.32 as an "aerial view" of the battlefield? That is, does it ignore height differences and basically flattens the battlefield into a 2D map?
  9. My tournament headjudge tells that 3 ISF models have cover? I don't think so. What is AMG opinion?
  10. Hey Im not sure From pages: Cover 32 Cover type 8 I have 5 team minis. 3 are in cover (not area cover). Cover is max 30% for them. So team has cover because 3/5 has any cover or not because they have less then 50% for any mini (3 in cover) in cover? Ask2. Need Single mini trooper to have cover need mininum 50% cover indeed? (p.8) Thx
  11. So based on the rule book when determining cover 1 requirement is, "a straight line can be drawn from any portion of the attackers base to any portion of the defenders base through that terrain feature." Does this mean that if the attacker is farther than 2, and the defender is withing range 1 of the terrain, then even if the majority of the base of the defender is visible to the attacker they will still get cover? So for example if a line can be drawn from far left of the attacker base to the far right of the defender base (assuming the attacker and defender players viewpoints across from one another), if a line CAN be made and it goes through a tiny bit of an appropriate terrain the defender gets cover? Is there any limit to this such as having to draw the line from center base to center base?
  12. If im on top of building, just in the middle of it ... and other character down the street cant build a straght line unostructed between both ..... have any of them stablish Los to attack ? in case that the character down the building can ... have the one at top cover? Ty in advance 🙂
  13. What step is cover applied? I have a situation where Green Goblin forces a reroll to the defender's rolls at 9b.i but can he force a re-roll of cover (if it's the only defensive success rolled, since he could force a reroll of any others otherwise)? It appears cover is applied by the defender on step 9.a.ii Thanks!
  14. I was was recently informed and read here that a character standing on a car (terrain feature) but meeting all the requirements for cover has cover. But the rulebook specifically says characters that hide behind terrain features gain cover (not on top) page 25 rulebook. It was my impression the spirt of the rule was "standing on" is not the same as "standing behind" and behind took precedence. If I'm wrong and it seems so, we've been using cover rules wrong since MCP was released.
  15. I’m pretty confused on how to determine LOS blocking and cover given by a Repulsor with Hover:Ground. A unit with Hover:Ground is treated as a ground vehicle by other units. Ground vehicles are treated as area terrain (p9) and as a zone from their base to the top of the mini. P49 says Hover:Ground vehicles provide heavy cover and block line of sight. So when determining line of sight, do I treat the hover:ground mini as area terrain and just the zone for cover or do I use the physical space occupied by the model? In other words, if I can see under an AA5 (ankle scoping) do I have LOS to the trooper on the other side of the AA5, but it gets heavy cover?
  16. So I'm aware the LAAT does not provide any form of cover. However, it can block line of sight. So if for example I am trying to shoot a trooper sqaud of 5 minis and 3 of them are blocked from line of sight by the LAAT. Do the reaming two units I can see get heavy cover becuse of the 3 I can't see or do those units get no cover? Checked the rules for clarification and I'm leaning to the unit has no cover as rules are written but the seems odd to me so wanted some clarification? Thank you!
  17. Hello. There was a case where a sniper was targeting an enemy for a shot. If we drew a straight line from the Attacker to the defender, there would be 2 small boulders along the path. Each boulder as individual pieces of terrain, were labeled as "light cover." Would each instance of light cover accumulate to "heavy cover" or would overall cover be designated as the common denominator of "light cover?" Thanks.
  18. Greeting, was wondering if magnetos tactic card granting him cover works even when the enemy is within 2 or not
  19. Hi If there are multiple defenders from a Beam attack, how is cover determined for each of the separate attacks? Do you check cover and line of sight from target 1 to target 2 for the second Beam attack and then repeat from target 2 to target 3 for the third or is the cover for all 3 targets determined from the line of sight of the original attacking unit? Thanks.
  20. My question is rocket always has cover regardless of attacking character range to him? And second magneto magnetic refraction does the same thing for him that rockets does and always has cover regardless of attackers distance to him or an ally within of him?
  21. Do you gain cover if you are attacked by a character standing on the same terrain as you, outside of range 2?
  22. Since cover is done at the modify dice step does this mean that if I roll 1 block and 1 skull I cannot modify the skull and therefore don’t benefit from cover? Does this also mean no one gains cover against Venom?
  23. Can cover with Rocket be stacked? Rocket always gains cover (except when he can’t due to attack special rules), but if played with Storms leadership, can he gain an additional cover and modify 2 defence dice?
  24. How does Cover/Line of sight work for characters that are in the same position on the XZ plane? I'm imagining this happening as a result of one character being on top of a bridge or the other character is inside of a cave or tunnel.
  25. Hello. If a model gains cover not from terrain, but from team tactics card or ability (like Magneto or Rocket), do attacker ignore it if it is in Range 2 of model with cover?
×
×
  • Create New...