Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

AI:Attack range/line of sight questions


Recommended Posts

Greetings,
I was always told that AI:Attack didn't matter if nothing was in range. I clearly see in the Rules Reference that "If a unit cannot perform one of it's listed actions as it's first action, it is free to perform actions as normal." However when I read the attack section of the Rules Reference it leaves me a bit confused. It never states that a unit has to be in range or line of sight to be attacked, the only stipulation is in order to chose a weapon to attack with the target must be in range and line of sight. This is step 2 however, and failure to meet this doesn't appear to end the attack or invalidate it.

So if I'm reading this correctly a unit of B2's activate and there is one enemy unit outside of the B2's range. AI:Attack would make my first action an attack.
I follow the attack timing:

  • Declare Defender, which would be the enemy unit longer than range 3
  • For Attack Pool, there would be no attack pool since no weapons are in range
  • I continue down the attack chart finishing my first action.

Second example, a unit of B2's activate and there is one enemy in range but out of line of sight. AI:Attack would make my first action an attack.
I follow the attack timing:

  • Declare Defender, which would be the enemy at range 3 but out of line of sight
  • For Attack Pool, there would be no attack pool since no eligible minis have line of sight
  • I continue down the attack chart finishing my first action.

So my question is do you have to AI:Attack models not in any of your weapon ranges or line of sight? Apologies I checked the FAQ and searched and didn't see anything addressing this.

Thank you,
TT

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hey there,

You need to be able to complete the attack action to satisfy the requirements of AI. So if you go to add a weapon to the attack pool and cannot because you are out of range or LoS, the attack sequence ends and you can activate as normal.

Hope that helps! 

TP

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hey again,

As an addition to this FAQ, I'd like to link a previous ruling made in relation to "Brains and Brawn". 

The following line is relevant here: If no weapons are added to the attack pool by Leia, the attack does not happen, and therefore Chewbacca cannot add his own weapon.

The FAQ that you posted would follow the same logic as that one. Hope this helps! 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...