Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

Yet another melee engagement cohesion question


Recommended Posts

One question here might have already answered this, but it wasn't quite what I was wondering. My questions is: when the attacker moves (a multi-mini unit) in and engages the defender (multi mini) unit starting a melee, the rules show the attacker placing one of each of their units minis into base contact with one other mini from the defender. So, does the attacker need to assign as many minis as they can to as many of the defenders minis (so if both units had 5 minis each it would be 1 mini per mini, sort of like in the rules reference picture) or, could the attacker fit all their minis around the one mini the unit leader moved into contact with and then have the defenders mini be moved into contact around them.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi there,

54 minutes ago, italianbread said:

So, does the attacker need to assign as many minis as they can to as many of the defenders minis (so if both units had 5 minis each it would be 1 mini per mini, sort of like in the rules reference picture)

No. The example provided in the Star Wars: Legion Core Rulebook is one of many eligible ways the Phase I Clone Troopers unit could have been placed into base contact with the B1 Battle Droids unit. As stated under the Moving Into Melee text, all miniatures should be placed into base contact with enemy miniatures if able and in cohesion, or simply in cohesion if not able to be placed into base contact with an enemy miniature.

Neither player is required to "pair off" miniatures, nor are they required to preferentially place their miniatures into base contact with enemy miniatures who are not yet in base contact with anyone. They simply must be placed into base contact with an enemy miniature - any enemy miniature from that unit into which they moved.

1 hour ago, italianbread said:

could the attacker fit all their minis around the one mini the unit leader moved into contact with and then have the defenders mini be moved into contact around them.

Yes, this the player moving into melee may place multiple of their miniatures into base contact with one enemy miniature. The opposing player will then place their miniatures not yet in base contact into base contact.

Hope this helps,
Seth

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Seth locked this topic
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
×
×
  • Create New...