Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

Scale - Height 2 Interactions.


Recommended Posts

Per the RRG, the Scale keyword indicates that after performing a movement action, a unit with the scale keyword can perform a free clamber action. 
 

Clamber actions are considered move actions for the purpose of triggering scale, allowing a user to reach the top of height two terrain.

Per RRG:  

A unit with the scale keyword can use scale in combination with a clamber action move up or down a distance up to height 2.

In the following scenario; Grievous is in base contact with a height 2 building.  Based on the rules as written, Grievous can perform a clamber for his first move action, triggering scale to reach the top of the height two building.  He can then make a second move action once he is at the top of the height two building.  This seems pretty clear.

The question I have is in regards to a scenario where Grievous is not in base contact with the height two terrain.   Assume Grievous’ first makes a standard move action at speed two, which places him in base contact places him in base contact with Height two terrain.  Per the scale rule, Grievous can perform a free clamber action. However, this would not be sufficient to reach the top of the height two building.  

The RRG also says however that scale can trigger before or after a move action.

As written, does Scale allow Grievous to:

Move Speed 2 to get in base contact > clamber (scale) > clamber (scale) > Move Speed 2 > End activation

 Or, is Grievous required to:

Move Speed 2 > clamber (action) > clamber (scale) > End activation.


Thanks in advance
 



 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hey there,

In this scenario, Grevious would be required to start his activation in base contact with the terrain feature. You cannot move, use scale, and then scale again before another move if there is no legal place to stop your movement. This is intentional, as it avoids issues related to triggering standby tokens (where do you measure to/from? What cover do I have?). 

TP

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...