Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

Recommended Posts

Posted

Hello!

Per the ruling on No Time For Sorrows,

a move that deploys a unit “need not be performed during their activation and need not be performed as part of a move action.”

Per the ruling on Din’s Amban rifle, 

 

A card action is not a move action and thus cannot be used to deploy a unit.

Can we square this with the ruling on NTFS? Is it just that the non-move action move need not be on the activation?

Further, how does this impact “Jump”? Can a unit use Jump to deploy? The Jump keyword states that it is a card action, but also that the unit takes a move action.

Thanks!

Posted

Hi there,

Those two scenarios have very different timing and circumstances. To make things clear:

On 7/26/2024 at 1:26 PM, Tooner623 said:

Can we square this with the ruling on NTFS? Is it just that the non-move action move need not be on the activation?

If an undeployed unit performs a Move for any reason, they will use that Move to Deploy. Abilities that provide Moves occurring outside of a unit's Activation, such as the circumstance in the linked case for No Time for Sorrows, will prompt this outside of a unit's Activation. To be abundantly clear, a unit being Moved by an ability such as this is not in their Make Actions step (or in their Activation at all; rather, they are in the Command Phase!).

In the scenario presented for Din Djarin, he is in his own Activation and is in his Make Actions step. "When an undeployed unit Activates, it must Deploy and may not perform any action that is not a Move until it Deploys." He may not opt to perform his Card action, as it is not a Move action, until he has been Deployed. He must perform a Move to Deploy.

On 7/26/2024 at 1:26 PM, Tooner623 said:

Further, how does this impact “Jump”? Can a unit use Jump to deploy? The Jump keyword states that it is a card action, but also that the unit takes a move action.

A unit may perform a Jump Card action any time it would perform a Move action, and so may Deploy using the Jump X Card action.

Hope this helps,
Seth

  • Seth locked this topic
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
×
×
  • Create New...