Zahmet Posted August 20, 2024 Posted August 20, 2024 Question about the timing of "Oh what a pity" from Loki Prince of Lies. The ability in question: "After an attack targeting this character or an allied character within 3, or after an attack made by this character is resolved, it may use this superpower..." So my question might be just minor grammar thing, but I feel that those can really impact how an ability works on when it's triggered. As I understand the, would seperate the ability to have two different triggers. "After an attack targeting this character or an allied character within 3," would be the first one "or after an attack made by this character is resolved" would be the second one. The first one sounds like it would trigger after the targeting of either Loki or an ally within 3 (so unless I am misstaken it would be 2d in the Appendix A for timing in the rulebook) and the second one sounds like its after the attack is resolved (so 14a I guess?) My gut feeling is that they should be the same and that both of them should be resolve so you don't have to premature pay for the ability. But it also reads like there are two different timings. So I would love an offical answer to when they trigger, are both at resolve? and also a few lines why that is? and how I should read this to not missunderstand in the future.
GilDK Posted September 12, 2024 Posted September 12, 2024 This reactive superpower on Loki Prince of Lies, says "After an attack targeting this character or an allied character within R3, or after an attack made by this character is resolved, it may use this superpower. If the enemy character´s roll contains any SKULL results, that character suffer 1 Damage." So there is my question. on allied characters it triggers on targeting, which would suggest, that even if the target is pushed outside R3 of Loki, He can still use it, since the model was in range on the trigger.
Thoras Posted October 7, 2024 Posted October 7, 2024 "After an attack" is the key wording and the timing phrase for this rule. "targeting" is not used in a timing sense here, but to indicate which character is being attacked. In this case, it essentially can be understood to mean "against". In all three scenarios, the superpower is used in step 14. Either 14a if its used when Loki makes an attack or 14b if its used when he or an ally is attacked.
Recommended Posts