Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

Recommended Posts

Posted

There isn't a timing clearly noted on this and there isn't a timing chart for rolling on objectives. 

When do I have the chance to play this? Can I play this after a recalibration matrix even though there is no timing window? Is it really Any time? 

  • 2 weeks later...
Posted

What is the timing of Practice Round during attacks? Both the playing of the card and the resolving.

The closest example I can find is Gambit's A Little Something Extra, which is triggered in step 6 and resolved in step 9.

Does the same apply here? And respectively for defence dice, steps 7 and 9?

Thanks!

Posted

Practice round should be used directly after rolling the type of dice it’s being applied to.

For attack dice, this is the end of step 6

For defense dice, this is the end of step 7

The reroll then occurs in 9.a.1 or 9.a.2 depending on the type of dice it was used with

For dodge dice, this is the end of step 2

The reroll then occurs in step 4

For crisis rolls, it’s directly after rolling the initial dice and the reroll occurs next.

 

  • 3 weeks later...
Posted
On 9/23/2024 at 5:36 PM, Thoras said:

Practice round should be used directly after rolling the type of dice it’s being applied to.

For attack dice, this is the end of step 6

For defense dice, this is the end of step 7

The reroll then occurs in 9.a.1 or 9.a.2 depending on the type of dice it was used with

For dodge dice, this is the end of step 2

The reroll then occurs in step 4

For crisis rolls, it’s directly after rolling the initial dice and the reroll occurs next.

 

So then as per that ruling, You can't fish for crits on a non-crit initial roll to make your attack/defense better then?

- Step 6/7: Initial roll > No Crits > Play "Practice Round"

- Step 8: Crits Explode > again no crits on initial roll, so no additional dice

- Step 9: Modify dice step > roll any number of your dice that's also a Failure

- Also sadly, since you didn't crit you won't get more dice than you initially rolled

Cause as you've clarified the sequence would go like this:

Is that correct?

Posted
On 10/9/2024 at 2:41 PM, ckpmax1108 said:

So then as per that ruling, You can't fish for crits on a non-crit initial roll to make your attack/defense better then?

Cause as you've clarified the sequence would go like this:

- Step 6/7: Initial roll > No Crits > Play "Practice Round"

- Step 8: Crits Explode > again no crits on initial roll, so no additional dice

- Step 9: Modify dice step > roll any number of your dice that's also a Failure

- Also sadly, since you didn't crit you won't get more dice than you initially rolled.

Is that correct?

In absence of other effects that could generate a Critical effect after Practice Round is played and before step 8, yes, this is correct. 

  • 2 months later...
  • 1 month later...
Posted
On 1/13/2025 at 9:09 PM, Pastrami said:

If my opponent uses recalibration matrix and I roll no crits, could i then use practice round to roll again?

No.

Even if its played at the appropriate time and the effect is not used, recalibration matrix is played and occurs at the end of the modify dice step, which is after your opportunity to resolve practice round it.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...