Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

Measurement and Mini Placement During Deployment


Recommended Posts

For clarity, this post is attempting to aid players in understanding the use of movement and range tools during deployment.  (1) and (2) are directly from the Rulebook.

(1)    To deploy a character, a player puts it within range 3 of their deployment edge.

(2)    Any distance that is measured using a measurement tool can be measured at any time, but players may only use one range tool and one movement tool at a time when making measurements during a game.

 

Question 1: 

Is deployment considered part of the game?  If no, then is it safe to assume that the restriction on measurement tools doesn't apply (in which case questions 2 and 3 are irrelevant)?

 

Question 2:

For the purpose of deployment, when is a mini considered “put?”

(a)    When the mini has been placed on the map in a legal placement and the deploying player acknowledges to their opponent that the mini has been deployed.

(b)    as soon as it is standing on the game area without assistance within range 3 of the deploying player’s deployment edge.

(c)    something else entirely.

 

If (a) is the correct answer for Question 2, then I think we also need to understand the scenarios in question 3.  If (b) is correct, please answer question 3 with the caveat that the deploying character is holding their mini with one hand while executing the fiddly bits described in question 3 with their other.  If (c), please provide granular guidance on the relevant parts of Question 3.

 

Question 3:

If (a) is allowable (or an applicable (c)), and (b) is not required – Is it permissible for a player to place their mini on the board, within range three of the deployment edge and then:

      (i)            Replace their range three ruler with a range 2 ruler, measure range 2 from a previously deployed mini, adjust the deploying miniature to range 2 of the previously deployed mini, replace the range 2 with a range 3 ruler and commit to a final placement?

    (ii)            Measure a position outside of range 3 from the deployment edge from the miniature as placed (but not necessarily in the final placement) using a movement tool to estimate the minis position after a move action?

   (iii)            Same as (ii), but additionally, swap out the range 3 from the tentative deployment position to measure range 1 from the movement tool, and then move the movement tool to estimate the possible position of two movement actions from deployment, then, swap back to the range 3 tool to decide on a final placement.

 

I have seen players do all of these things, including one player telling another after the opponent accidentally dropped their mini on the board within range 3 that it had been deployed.  I have also heard players argue for and against all of these points.  Clarity would be much appreciated, thanks!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...

Question 1: If you are measuring something for the game, then the pre-measure rules should be followed. That being said, yes, we believe that deployment is part of the game just like Roster selection is part of the game.

Question 2: A character is deployed when it has been declared as deployed. If I stumble and drop a miniature onto the table, it has not been deployed. Deploying a character is an intentional act, much like moving one during the game.

Question 3: As stated above, the rules for pre-measuring are "always" in effect. How does this apply to your deployment? Well, you can only use the provided measuring tools as stated in the rules - a characters base is not that. So if you wanted to measure a distance that is not the deployment area, you would have to remove the miniature that has not been deployed. Marking where the miniature was is a breach of the pre-measure rules.

As you describe it, there cannot be a "Tentative Deployment" position. You either are deployed and remain on the table, or you are not, and are removed from the table before any other measurements are made.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...