Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

Frequently Asked Questions


Guest AMG_Luke
 Share

Recommended Posts

Guest AMG_Luke

This thread contains many frequently asked rules questions for Star Wars: Legion.

Most of these posts clarify specific interactions between cards, keywords, and rules, that aren't covered in the online Rules Reference. The rulings in these posts are considered official. Posts will be deleted if a ruling changes. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 69
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: How much terrain should be placed on a battlefield for a game of Star Wars: Legion?

Answer: While players can use however much or however little terrain they would like when playing Star Wars: Legion, the Rules Reference suggests that players fill at least a quarter of the battlefield with pieces of terrain, as densely packed as possible, and then spread that terrain out over the entire battlefield. It is recommended that players follow this suggestion for the best Star Wars: Legion experience. In addition, including a variety of terrain types adds interesting tactical decisions to a game. A mix of terrain that includes several pieces of height 1 or 2 terrain that blocks line of sight, a few pieces of area terrain that provide light cover, one or two pieces of difficult terrain, and 8 to 12 barricades is a great starting point that players can add to with their own custom-made terrain or other favorite terrain types.
 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: When a unit performs a ranged attack, does the unit leader need to have line of sight to the defending unit?

Answer: No. While range is always measured from an attacking unit leader, the unit leader does not need line of sight to a defending mini in order for the unit to perform an attack. However, only minis that have line of sight to a defending mini can contribute a weapon to the attack pool.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: When determining obscured minis during an attack, if the defending unit is on a piece of terrain with a higher elevation than the attacking unit, because of how line of sight works a portion of each defending mini’s base will likely be obscured by the terrain. Can this provide the defending unit with cover?

Answer: Yes. Because line of sight to part of the defending mini’s base is blocked for the attacking unit leader and that terrain falls along an imaginary line between the attacking unit leader and the defending mini, that mini is obscured. If at least half of the unit’s minis are obscured in this way, the defending unit will gain whatever level of cover the terrain provides. Units at a higher elevation will often have an advantage in this way.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: Since a player’s command hand is a part of their army, is the contents of their command hand public information to their opponent before a game? During a game is a player’s command hand public information? Similarly, is a player’s discard pile public information?

Answer: No, although a player’s command hand is a part of their army, neither before a game nor during a game is a player’s command hand public information. The contents of a player’s command hand is considered hidden information, except to that player. However, a player’s discarded command cards are public information. A player can request to see their opponent’s discarded command cards at any time.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: Can one player divulge multiple command cards in the same step or phase of the game?

Answer: Yes. A player can divulge as many cards as they have that are eligible to be divulged at the start of any given step or phase. That player choses the order that those cards are divulged in. If both players have cards that can be divulged at the start of a given step or phase, the blue player must divulge any and all cards they wish to divulge, before the red player does so.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: If a unit, such as Luke Skywalker, moves into range 1-2 of two enemy units that both have standby tokens, and the first enemy unit spends it token to attack Luke Skywalker and defeats him, can the second enemy unit also spend its standby token, even though Luke Skywalker is no longer on the battlefield?

Answer: Yes. The triggering event (in this case Luke Skywalker moving) still occurred, and thus the second unit may still spend its standby token. It may also choose not to spend its standby token since, while multiple game effects can be triggered by one event, they are resolved one at a time and are not "declared" simultaneously. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: Can the upgrade card "Force Push" be used to force an enemy trooper unit to perform a climb or clamber move?

Answer: No. Whenever a game effect allows or forces a unit to perform a “speed–x” move, that unit performs a full or partial standard move with a speed equal to or lower than “x.” Climbing and clambering are not standard moves and thus cannot be performed in place of a speed–x move.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: After performing a move, if a character with the relentless ability is equipped with the upgrade "Saber Throw", can they use the Saber Throw action to perform a ranged attack with their melee weapon? 

Answer: Yes, because "Saber Throw" is explicitly treated as an attack action, as stated in the card text itself, it can be used to perform an attack after a move via the relentless ability. Some card actions, such as Saber Throw or jump x, are treated as other types of actions. This is indicated in the text of the card action itself. When a unit performs that card action, treat that action as the type of action indicated in its text, as well as a card action, for the purposes of other game effects and to determine how many times that action can be performed during a unit’s activation.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: Can a unit be issued an order via another game effect after using the "Battle Meditation" upgrade card when it would have otherwise been issued an order via a command card? For example, the command card "Give Into Your Anger" is played and Emperor Palpatine uses "Battle Meditation" to issue an order to another unit instead of himself – can that other unit use the "Comms Relay" upgrade card to issue that order to Emperor Palpatine instead?

Answer: Yes. Because Emperor Palpatine was never actually issued an order, he is still eligible to be issued an order by another game effect.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: When I use the upgrade card "Improvised Orders" to draw a second order token, if that second token is a "dead draw" – an order token of a rank that I cannot activate – do I remove it and then redraw another order token?

Answer: Yes. The draw made with "Improvised Orders" checks whether that order token can be used to activate an eligible unit; if it cannot, it is removed and another token is drawn in its place before proceeding with the rest of the "Improvised Orders" effect. However, as long as each order token can be used to activate a unit, even if it is the same unit, do not remove that token and redraw another one.

For example, a player has one corps unit left and, after drawing a corps order token, they use Improvised Orders and draw a second corps order token. Because both order tokens could technically be used to activate an eligible unit, the player does not remove and redraw any order tokens at this time.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: If a wounded unit is equipped with the "Tenacity" upgrade, and forms multiple attack pools of melee weapons, does it add 1 red die to each attack pool? For example, General Grievous is engaged with two enemy units and uses arsenal 2 to form two different melee attack pools. 

Answer: Yes. The "Tenacity" upgrade card adds 1 red die to each melee attack pool formed by the unit. The effect is applied once per eligible step, in this case it is applied twice. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: If, while performing a move, a unit exhausts an equipped "Offensive Push" upgrade card, to gain tactical 1, does that unit have the tactical 1 keyword for the duration of its activation?

Answer: No. As indicated in the card text, the effect is active only during a single move, including any effects that trigger immediately after that move, in this case the tactical 1 keyword. “While moving” specifies the timing window in which the card effect can be used. The player triggers the effect by choosing to exhaust the card during that window.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: If the "Whipcord Launcher" command card is in play, and Boba Fett is engaged with an enemy unit with one or more immobilize tokens, can he perform moves even if he is also engaged with another enemy unit that does not have any immobilize tokens?

Answer: Yes. As long as Boba Fett is engaged with one enemy unit that has at least one immobilize token, he can perform moves while engaged if "Whipcord Launcher" is in play.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: When attacking an enemy trooper unit that has a face-up order token while the command card "Reckless Diversion" is in play, can the attacking unit form one attack pool for the enemy trooper unit and form a second attack pool in order to attack a different unit?

Answer: No. Under most circumstances, the attacking unit cannot do so. The attacking unit, and each mini in that unit, must add all eligible weapons to the attack pool that is targeting the enemy trooper unit with a face-up order token. A unit, or mini, cannot "choose" a weapon that is not eligible to be added to that dice pool if it can add a different weapon that is eligible. The attacking unit can only form a second dice pool if, after first forming a dice pool with all eligible weapons, there are still weapons useable by minis in the unit that were not eligible to be added to the attack pool targeting the enemy trooper unit with a face-up order token.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: If, during a command phase, both players choose and reveal the command card "Change of Plans", which player resolves the effect of their command card first?

Answer: In the situation that both players reveal "Change of Plans", the blue player must resolve the effect of their command card first, choosing whether to discard their command card and return the other player's card or to leave both in play. Then the red player, if able, resolves their command card. As a general rule, if two players' command cards have simultaneous effects, the blue player resolves the effects of their command card first.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: If my opponent reveals the command card "Change of Plans" and chooses to return my command card to my hand and re-select command cards, and then I select and reveal my copy of "Change of Plans" and choose to return his command card and re-select command cards a second time, can I now select the original command card that was returned to my hand?

Answer: Yes. The effect of "cannot select the command card that was returned to their hand" applies to the "return to the Select Command Cards step" effect also caused by this card. After returning to the Select Command Cards step, the second effect of being unable to select the other command card ends, it does not persist into a second instance of re-selecting command cards. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: A player has selected a revealed a command card that they “must select,” such as "Diplomatic Cover" or 'Darkness Descends", however their opponent has revealed "Change of Plans", and forces that card to be returned to their hand. Does that card have still have to selected and played, even though 'Change of Plans" says it cannot be?

Answer: No, as per the Golden Rule, found in the online Rules Reference, the “cannot” effect of "Change of Plans" overrides the effect of the other card, and therefore a different command card must be selected. In the case of "I Make the Rules Now", refer to the weapon profile on the card if a Kablamo! token detonates, even if the card is not in play.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: What happens when "Give in to Your Anger" and a command card with an "at the end of its activation" attack, such as "Orbital Bombardment" or "Maximum Firepower", are both played and "Give in to Your Anger" targets the unit that would make an attack at the end of its activation?

Answer: When resolving "at the end of its activation" effects, the player that controls the unit that is activating chooses the order of those effects. In the case above, the player controlling the targeted unit could choose to have it perform the attack granted by the command card before resolving the effects of "Give in to Your Anger".

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: When issuing orders with the command card "An Entire Legion", if "Battle Meditation" is used to issue an order to a unit that otherwise wouldn't receive one, is one fewer order issued to an eligible unit? 

Answer: Yes. Because the errata'd "Battle Meditation" explicitly says "instead," to issue an order to a unit that would otherwise not receive an order, a different unit that is eligible cannot receive an order.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: When using the command card "Brains and Brawn", can Leia Organa choose an enemy unit as a defender that her weapon does not have range to so that Chewbacca can add his weapon to the attack pool and attack that unit?

Answer: No. Leia must be able to add a weapon to the attack pool in order for the attack to be eligible. If no weapons are added to the attack pool by Leia, the attack does not happen, and therefore Chewbacca cannot add his own weapon.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: When playing the command card "Pinned Down", if an attacking heavy or support unit has more than one mini or the arsenal x keyword and attacks more than one enemy unit with a face-up order token, are all face-up order tokens returned to their order pools? Or does this effect only allow one order token to be returned?

Answer: Each defender's face-up order token is returned. While an attacker is only ever considered to have performed one attack for the purpose of game effects that trigger after an attack, the text "a unit with a face-up order token" is not meant to restrict the effect to one unit.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: When playing the command card "Covering Fire", if an attacking corps unit forms multiple attack pools, does another unit gain a dodge token each time an attack pool is resolved?

Answer: No. An attacker is only ever considered to have performed one attack for the purposes of game effects that trigger after an attack is resolved, even if multiple dice pools are resolved. Game effects that trigger during an attack apply to each attack pool. However, any effects that trigger after a unit has performed an attack apply after all attack pools have been resolved, and the unit is considered to have performed only one attack or attack action.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: While "Reptilian Rampage" is in play during his activation, can Bossk suffer multiple wounds to perform multiple free move actions?

Answer: No. As with all card text that allows an effect to take place "during" a specific window, that effect can only be used or triggered once during that window.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: When Luke Skywalker uses his command card "You Serve Your Master Well" to perform a move or attack action with an enemy unit, can the player performing the action spend that unit's tokens?

Answer: Yes. The unit controlled by "You Serve Your Master Well" is treated as a friendly unit by the player performing an action with it for the duration of that action and for any effects that occur immediately after that action, and therefore the player can spend that unit's tokens.

For example, if the chosen unit performs an attack action, the player that played You Serve Your Master Well can spend that unit’s aim tokens to reroll attack dice during that attack.

 

Question: Can that player use the targeted unit's optional abilities, such as the spur keyword, or abilities that grant free actions such as charge and relentless? Can that player also exhaust the targeted unit’s upgrade cards to use their effects, if they're applicable to the action being performed?

Answer: Yes. Optional abilities and card effects, belonging to the targeted unit, can be used by the player that played "You Serve Your Master Well".

For example, if the chosen unit performs a move action, the player that played You Serve Your Master Well can use that unit’s spur ability to increase its speed and then use its relentless ability to perform an attack.

 

Question: Can that player perform actions with the targeted unit that are treated as move or attack actions, like the jump keyword or the "Saber Throw" upgrade card?

Answer: Yes. Because the actions are explicitly treated as move or attack actions, respectively, in their game text, they can be used by the player that played "You Serve Your Master Well".

 

Question: Can that player use the fire support ability of their own units to add dice to the attack pool of the unit targeted by "You Serve Your Master Well"? Can they use the fire support ability of enemy units?

Answer: Because the unit performing the attack is treated as a friendly unit, that player can use the fire support keyword of their own units to add dice to the attack pool. The player cannot use the fire support keywords of their opponents' units.

 

Question: If the targeted unit is a clone trooper, can the player performing an action with it spend the tokens of their own clone trooper units at range 1 of the targeted unit? Can they spend their opponent's clone trooper units’ tokens?

Answer: The player performing the action can spend the tokens of their own clone trooper units at range 1, but not their opponent's.

 

Question: If an enemy unit targeted by "You Serve Your Master Well" engages another enemy unit, when does that engagement end? Are they still considered to be engaged after the effect of "You Serve Your Master Well"?

Answer: No, the engagement ends as soon as the command card effect, and any effects triggered by it, ends and the enemy units return to being friendly to each other. Note that minis from different friendly units can be in base contact with each other and are not considered to be engaged.

 

Question: When I target an opponent's unit with "You May Serve Your Master Well", can you exhaust it's cards to gain those keywords, abilities, or weapons? 

Answer: When controlling an opponent's unit, you may exhaust its cards to use their keywords, abilities, or weapons if the conditions to do so are met. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
 Share


×
×
  • Create New...