Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

Frequently Asked Questions


Guest AMG_Luke
 Share

Recommended Posts

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: Can Darth Vader use the command card "Vader's Might" to move a unit that is being transported?

Answer: Yes. When you would measure from the targeted unit's current location, measure from the base of the transporting unit instead. The targeted unit's tokens are placed back on the battlefield beside it, as if it had disembarked. 

 

Question: Can a unit be moved out of base contact or into base contact with the "Vader’s Might" card effect?

Answer: Yes. A unit can be moved out of or into base contact with this effect. Note that the unit being placed in base contact must follow the rules for starting a melee, as if it was performing a move - it must have a melee weapon, can only start a melee with one enemy unit, etc

 

Question: When measuring the distance from the unit's current position to its new position, do you measure from unit leader to unit leader? From any mini to any mini? Or from each mini in the old position to each mini in the new position?

Answer: Each mini moved to the new position must be within range 1 of at least one mini in the unit's previous location, as if it were two different units. To do this, choose any mini in the unit, measure range 1 from that mini, and then place each mini in the unit within that range (and in cohesion with their unit leader). It is helpful to move the mini that was chosen to measure range 1 from last, after all the other minis in the unit have been moved to within range 1 of that mini.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 69
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: When panicked and moving toward the closest edge of the battlefield, do droid troopers perform a single move action or two move actions?

Answer: Droid troopers, like all other trooper types, perform only one move action toward the closest edge while panicked during their activation. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: Can a creature trooper mini displace enemy trooper minis and start a melee with that same enemy unit?

Answer: Yes. Though in order to start a melee the creature trooper mini performing the move must still end its movement in base contact with one of the enemy unit's minis without displacing that mini.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: Can small base trooper minis “surround” the base of a larger enemy creature trooper mini’s base they are in melee with, even though trooper minis are not allowed to move through creature trooper minis? Placing a trooper mini on the opposite side of the creature trooper base from its unit leader makes that trooper mini unable to “legally perform a speed-1 move” for the purposes of the advanced cohesion rules, if it cannot technically move through the enemy creature trooper base.

Answer: Yes, small base minis can surround an enemy creature trooper base. When trooper minis are being placed in cohesion, they are considered to be able to move through any enemy trooper minis with which they are engaged.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: If a vehicle with both ranged and melee weapons, such as an AT-ST, is in a melee with an enemy unit, can it use the arsenal 2 keyword to select a melee weapon to use against the enemy unit it is in a melee with and a ranged weapon to use against a different enemy unit?

Answer: Yes. Because the AT-ST is a vehicle, and not a trooper unit, it is not engaged while in a melee and may perform ranged attacks. Additionally, because it has the arsenal 2 keyword it may choose two different weapons and form two different attack pools. However, it cannot use a ranged weapon against an enemy unit it is in a melee with, nor can it have a melee weapon and a ranged weapon in the same attack pool.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: Though the entourage ability explicitly cannot be effected by the upgrade card "Battle Meditation", can it be effected by other upgrade cards that alter the range orders are issued at or that change what happens when an order is issued, such as "Commanding Presence", "Comms Relay", and "Long Range Comms"?

Answer: Yes. Using the entourage ability to issue an order is a form of issuing an order and its effect can be modified by other game effects that alter how orders are issued or that trigger when or after an order is issued. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: While the effects of the "Limited Visibility" condition card are active, can a unit use fire support even if the distance between it and the defender is beyond the ranges specified by "Limited Visibility"?

Answer: No. The unit using fire support must be able to contribute weapons that are eligible to be used for a ranged attack as if that unit were making a ranged attack. The defender is beyond the range at which a ranged attack can be performed, and therefore the unit's ranged weapons are not eligible to be added to a ranged attack at that distance via the fire support ability.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: When a unit with the covert ops keyword is deployed as an Operative and a Special Forces or Core unit is selected to be the new Commander, can that unit be the target of an enemy unit’s bounty keyword?

Answer: Yes. The unit is promoted to Commander when the friendly covert ops unit is deployed, the target of the bounty keyword is chosen at the end of the Setup Phase, at which point the new commander unit is eligible as a target. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: Are Minefield condition tokens, Bombing Run objective tokens, and Bane tokens removed after they detonate, even though they aren’t detonated via the detonate keyword?

Answer: Yes. Unless stated otherwise, after a token detonates, it is removed.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: What happens if a non-repulsor unit moves into range 1 of a condition token while the "Minefield" condition card is in play, but line of sight to that token is blocked by a repulsor vehicle mini (that didn’t trigger the Minefield effect because it is a repulsor)? Does the token fail to detonate?

Answer: Correct, the condition token does not detonate, because vehicles block line of sight and therefore line of sight cannot be drawn from the token to the unit that moved into range 1 of it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: When playing with the "Hostage Exchange" objective card, during the Set Up Phase, can a trooper unit engage an enemy unit that has a Hostage card?

Answer: No, during Setup units cannot start melees and therefore cannot become engaged with any enemy units.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: Are Minefield condition tokens considered to be “enemy effects” for the purposes of the Hostage card? What happens when a mine token detonates at range 1 of a unit equipped with a Hostage (during round one)?

Answer: No, the Minefield battle card effect is not an enemy effect, and therefore the condition tokens can be triggered by a unit with a Hostage. When a mine token detonates, perform attacks against units equipped with a Hostage card as normal.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: Are Bane tokens considered to be “enemy effects” for the purposes of the Hostage card?  What happens when an enemy Kablamo! token detonates at range 1 of a unit equipped with a Hostage card (during round one)?

Answer: Enemy Bane tokens are considered to be enemy effects, since their effect originates from an opponent’s command card, therefore a unit with a Hostage card ignores all enemy Bane token effects during round one. When an enemy Kablamo! token detonates during round one, do not perform an attack against a friendly unit with the Hostage card. Friendly Kablamo! tokens are not enemy effects and if a friendly Kablamo! token detonates at range 1 of a friendly unit with the Hostage card, perform an attack against that unit as normal.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: If a unit equipped with the "Hostage" upgrade card is deployed in base contact with an enemy Bane token, and at the start of round one that token is revealed to be the Here I Am token (which would normally result in Cad Bane being placed into base contact and engaged with the other unit), since Cad Bane cannot start a melee with the Hostage unit, what happens?

Answer: Normally, Cad Bane would be placed in base contact, starting a melee, and the two units would be engaged. However, the Hostage card prevents enemy units from starting a melee, so the player that controls Cad Bane instead places him as close possible to the Hostage unit but not in base contact with it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: The condition card "War Weary" reduces the range at which a unit can use a friendly commander unit’s courage when it checks whether it panics. Does "War Weary" effect the range at which a unit can use the courage value of a friendly operative unit equipped with the "Inspiring Presence" upgrade card, or a friendly heavy unit with the field commander keyword and a command token, since neither of those are technically commander units? 

Answer: As written, "War Weary" has no effect in either of those cases, since the card explicitly refers to using the courage value of a friendly commander unit.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...

Question: When a unit uses the fire support keyword and flip their token, does Bossk gain an aim from his command card "Lying in Wait"?

Answer: Since the unit did not activate, Bossk does not gain an aim from "Lying in Wait".

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: Can units promoted through the field commander keyword be targeted by a unit with bounty?  

Answer: No. Units promoted with field commander cannot be targeted by the bounty keyword. They retain their rank, and are therefore not a Commander or Operative that can be chosen as a target of bounty

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: When a unit uses the fire support keyword, do they suffer end of activation effects such as wounds from "Emergency Stims", or Poison tokens? 

Answer: No. A unit that uses fire support does not go through a normal activation, and thus there is no End of Activation trigger. This means that effects like "Emergency Stims" and Poison do not trigger after using fire support

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: Do orders issued with a command card that are transferred to a new target, through effects like authoritative and "Comms Relay," also confer the additional effects of that command card? 

Answer: For the purposes of command card effects, orders transferred to a new target via effects like authoritative or "Comms Relay" count as being issued from the unit with that keyword or upgrade, and not from the nominated unit or command card.

Example: Roger Roger! is played, and one of the orders is given to a B1 unit with the Comms Relay upgrade. If the B1 unit relays the order to another unit, that unit does not receive a Dodge or Surge token. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: If Obi-wan Kenobi is equipped with the "Situational Awareness" upgrade card, can he use the combination of guardiansoresu mastery, and outmaneuver to take a critical hit result that another unit is defending against and subsequently dodge that result?

Answer: No. The outmaneuver keyword allows a unit to spend dodge tokens to cancel critical results during the Apply Dodge and Cover step. The combined effects of guardian and soresu mastery take place during the Modify Attack Dice step and explicitly only effect hit results. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: If an attacking unit, such as a BARC speeder, splits its fire, can a friendly unit with fire support also split its fire and add eligible weapons to each attack pool?

Answer: No, when a unit uses fire support it can only add eligible weapons one attack pool, not multiple pools.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: If a Tauntaun Riders unit withdraws and moves into melee with a different enemy unit, does ram trigger on the resulting attack via relentless?

Answer: No, ram does not trigger. The Tauntaun Riders' maximum speed is 3, and during the withdraw they only perform a speed-1 move, and thus do not move at their maximum speed, as required by the ram keyword.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: If Maul has played his 2-pip, "The Phantom Menace" (not divulged), can an enemy unit at range 3 of him contribute to an attack against Maul via fire support?

Answer: No, to use the fire support keyword a unit must legally be able to make an attack, even though using the fire support keyword is not itself considered to be an attack by that unit.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
 Share


×
×
  • Create New...