Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

Frequently Asked Questions


Guest AMG_Luke
 Share

Recommended Posts

Question: If a unit that is being transported and gains a standby token, does is keep its standby token if the unit transporting it moves?

Answer: Yes. If a trooper gains a suppression or performs a move, an attack, or an action it removes its standby token; the transported unit has not performed a move so it keeps its standby token.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 69
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Question: When do I check to see if the line from attacking unit leader to defending mini crosses a terrain piece to determine cover?

Answer: Only check the line from center to center if the defending mini is obscured in any way from the attacking unit leader. If that line crosses the terrain that is obscuring the defending mini, that mini will be in cover. Repeat this process for each defending mini to determine if the defending unit has cover.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: "Fortified Positions" states that barricades placed by this card "must be placed horizontally". Does that mean they have to be placed parallel to the board edge? 

Answer: “Horizontally” means that the barricades cannot be placed on their sides such that they stand up tall. They do not have to be parallel to any particular board edge.

 

Question: Can barricades from "Fortified Positions" be placed "laying down" on their sides, or must they be placed "traditionally"?  

AnswerYes, they can be placed on their sides. As long as the they are placed lengthwise horizontal to the plane of the battlefield, the placement requirements of the condition card are met.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: Can area terrain block line of sight?

Answer: Ground vehicles (which are treated as area terrain) block line of sight. But other types of area terrain should be defined ahead of the game as line-of-sight blocking or not line-of-sight blocking. Any area terrain that has pieces that can be picked up and moved to accommodate movement should not block line of sight.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question:

1. While playing the "Bombing Run" objective card, after the Deploy Units Step, are Vehicles eligible to receive an objective token? 

2. Can units control more than one objective token at a time?

3. What happens to an objective token when it is is detonated?

4. Can units with the incognito keyword be assigned an objective token?

5. What happens when a unit uses the drop action, but an enemy claims that objective token, and then that enemy is defeated without ever using the drop action itself. Does the original unit get to detonate that objective token?

Answer: 

1. Yes, vehicles are able to receive an objective token after the Deploy Units Step. 

2. No, units cannot control more than one objective token at a time while "Bombing Run" is the objective.

3. Once a token has detonated, remove that token from the battlefield.

4. No, units with the keyword incognito cannot be assigned a token after the Deploy Units Step. 

5. No, an unclaimed token can be detonated only if it was flipped to its unclaimed side via the drop ability; in this case it is currently on its unclaimed side because the last unit to claim it was defeated. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: For the objective card "Key Positions", does the objective token that you use to mark terrain block movement from minis?

Answer: No, the "Key Positions" objective token is unique in that it is simply used to mark terrain. It does not have any other significant game impact outside of marking terrain. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: What miniature do I use to measure range regarding abilities and effects?

Answer: Attack ranges are measured between the attacking unit's leader to the closest mini in the defending unit, regardless of line of sight. The range of abilities and effects that are not attacks may be measured between any mini in the unit and the closest mini in the target unit and do not require line of sight unless stated otherwise.

Example: A Medic Droid mini does not have to be at range 1 of the targeted unit of the treat action, as long as another miniature from its unit is in range 1 of the targeted unit.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: When a unit is issued an order, and then uses "Comms Relay" to issue that order to another unit instead, can the original unit then be issued another order? 

Answer: No. Units can only be issued an order once, even if they give that order to another unit. The errata'd "Comms Relay" card states: "When you would be issued an order, you may choose a friendly unit at range 1–2. Issue an order to the chosen unit instead. If you do, you cannot be issued another order during this round."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: Can a unit with immune: enemy effects, such as a unit with a "Hostage" card equipped, suffer displacement from enemy units?

Answer A: Yes, displacement is not considered an "enemy effect" because it is not the result of an opponent's card effect or keyword. Note that they may also suffer displacement from friendly units.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: Can a single unit benefit from being the target of multiple copies of the "Vigilance" upgrade? 

Answer: No. Because the effect of "Vigilance" is not a keyword with an "x" value, multiple instances of the "Vigilance" effect do not stack their numerical value. Resolving the effect of removing all but 1 dodge token multiple times is redundant. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: Can the additional attacks generated by beam weapons target defenders beyond the weapon's maximum range, and can the additional attacks target defenders closer than the weapons minimum range? 

Answer: The additional attacks may target defenders beyond the weapon's maximum range, but may not target defenders closer than the weapon's minimum range. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question:  After playing "All In", Lando declares a critical result before rolling attack dice.  The results on the dice are one Blank and one Offensive Surge.  Does an Offensive Surge result fulfill the requirement of "All In", on account of his surge profiles?

Answer: No. The effect of "All In" is triggered between the Reroll Dice step and the Convert Attack Surges step of an attack or defense roll.  Since Lando's surges will not convert to crits until after the effect has been triggered, they do not fulfill the requirement.

 

Question: Can uncanny luck be used before checking the requirements to trigger "All In" during and Attack or Defense Roll?

Answer: Abilities and keywords that allow a player to reroll or modify dice are used during the specified steps of a roll.  In this case, uncanny luck, aim tokens, and observation tokens can all be used, since their effects trigger during the Reroll Dice step.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: Do orders generated from the coordinate keyword stack with the effects of the "Mechanized Incursion" command card? 

Answer: Yes, the effects of "Mechanized Incursion" stack with orders given out from the coordinate keyword. 

Example: "Mechanized Incursion" is used to order a unit of STAP Riders. The chosen unit of STAP Riders may both issue an order using their Coordinate: Droid Trooper, Vehicle keyword to a unit at Range 1 and and issue an order to a friendly Droid Trooper unit at Range 1-2 using the "Mechanized Incursion" command card text. The STAP Riders use the "Mechanized Incursion" text to issue an order to a friendly B2 Battle Droids unit, and their Coordinate keyword to issue an order to another friendly STAP Riders unit, which may then also take advantage of both Coordinate as well as the extra order granted by "Mechanized Incursion", continuing the process.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: If a player divulges the command card "Darkness Descends", can they use contingencies to play a different card on turn 1?

Answer: No, as "Darkness Descends" requires the card to be selected during the first battle round. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: Can a Rebel player discard Lando’s command card "Ace Up His Sleeve" from their command hand or contingency pile for its effect during the Activation Phase of a turn that Lando’s Flaw card, "I’ve Altered the Deal" is played?

Answer: No. You may not use Lando’s command cards for the duration of the turn, which includes the Command Phase as well as the Activation Phase.

 

Question: Can "Ace Up His Sleeve" be played or discarded for its effect if Lando has been defeated? 

Answer: No, "Ace Up His Sleeve" cannot be played or discarded after Lando has been defeated. 

 

Question: Can I trigger "Improvised Orders"  after a random order token is drawn but use "Ace Up His Sleeve" instead of drawing a second token? Allowing me to resolve "Ace Up His Sleeve", and then still use the first order token that triggered "Improvised Orders" to activate another unit?

Answer: No. The first sentence of "Improvised Orders" is a discrete effect that must be fully resolved before other effects, and thus cannot be interrupted by the effect of "Ace Up His Sleeve."

 

Question: Can Lando Calrissian use "Commanding Presence" on the secondary effect of "Ace Up His Sleeve" to increase the range at which he issues an order? 

Answer: No. Lando is not the nominated commander issuing orders, but instead just a point to measure the secondary effect of "Ace Up His Sleeve" from. 

 

Question: If the bottom half of the text of "Ace Up His Sleeve" is used (i.e. it is discarded) is the order considered to be issued from Lando? Self-issued? Additionally, if issued from Lando (or self-issued to Lando from Lando), does it proc the top-half of the card (does the unit gain a dodge or standby token)?

Answer: No - Lando is just used as a point of origin for the order, but isn't actually issuing an order. You would not gain the effects of any command upgrades he has equipped, and the unit that received the order would not gain a Standby or Dodge token. Additionally, you cannot use the ability on the top of the card after using the bottom half because it has been discarded, and is therefore no longer in play. 

 

Question: If a unit has already received an order this turn, but the face-up order token was removed (i.e. due to Double the Fall, Pinned Down, future effects), does Ace’s bottom half of the text allow them to be issued an order for a second time?

AnswerNo, because the unit has already been issued an order that turn. 

 

Question: If a unit has already activated for this turn, and has a face-down order token, does Ace’s bottom half of the text allow them to be activated for a second time?

Answer: No - unless a card explicitly allows them to (such as "Implacable", you cannot activate a unit twice in a single turn. 

 

Question: Can a unit use Comms Relay to transfer an Ace-issued order token? If so, who activates?

Answer: Yes. The final unit to receive the order would activate (in this case, it would be the unit that the order was Relayed to)

 

 

Question: Does an order issued by the discard effect of "Ace Up His Sleeve" trigger Coordinate? If so, who activates?

Answer: Yes. The first unit to receive the order would activate (in this case, it would be the unit who started the coordinate chain)

 

Question: Does "Ace Up His Sleeve" trigger abilities that activate abilities that activate when you are issued an order, such as Defend, Ready, and Target?

Answer: Yes, as per the following FAQ

 

 

Question: Do card effects like "Comms Jammer" prevent issuing the order from discarding "Ace Up His Sleeve" to other units or Lando?

Answer: Yes. Comms Jammer will prevent units other than Lando from receiving the order gained from discarding "Ace Up His Sleeve" and in addition, if Lando was in range of the "Comms Jammer", he would not be a legal target for the order, because he is not issuing the order to himself. 

 

Question: If Luke Skywalker takes "Battle Meditation", and uses it to issue his order “away” from “I am a Jedi”, and then receives an order mid-turn from "Ace Up His Sleeve", does he still choose 2 enemy trooper units at range 1 and they lose the ability to attack?

Answer: Yes. The effect triggers when Luke is issued an order. Per previous "Battle Mediation" FAQ's, Luke was never issued an order, and therefore the effect of "Ace Up His Sleeve" would activate when it is discarded to give him an order. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: If Agent Kallus is defeated during the round he plays "ISB Investigation", do any command cards set aside by the command card effect remain set aside and return to the player's hand in a subsequent round?

Answer: Yes. Even if Agent Kallus is defeated, the effect of "ISB Investigation" remains. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: If "ISB Investigation" is played and the number 1 is declared, does "Sorry About the Mess" have to be set aside? 

Answer: No. Because "Sorry About the Mess" counts as a one pip only during the command hand building process, it would not be set aside.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 months later...

Question: If I am in base contact with an objective token that has been claimed by an enemy (or friendly) unit leader can I use the claim action to steal it?

Answer: No, you can only use the claim action on unclaimed tokens. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 months later...

Question: Can a Barricade that has been marked with an objective token (Payload, Key Positions, etc) be moved with the "Force Lift" upgrade card. 

Answer: No. Barricades that have been marked with an objective token cannot be moved with "Force Lift" or by any other effects.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...

Question: When "Supreme Commander" is played on a turn where an IG-100 Magnaguard unit has a faceup order token, does the unit's Guardian 2 stack with the Guardian 2 gained from the command card? Additionally, would you be able to use Guardian 4 in melee? 

Answer: Both sources of Guardian x would stack to Guardian 4. You would only be able to use Guardian 2 in melee, as per the effects of the command card. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
 Share


×
×
  • Create New...