Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

Spawning Hydra Troopers & Cut off One Head... Timing


Recommended Posts

I choose to activate Red Skull, Master of Hydra and Hydra Troopers is not in play. Hydra Troopers are placed into play and gain a stagger token. Does Hydra Troopers immediately shake the stagger and take one action before I take any actions with Red Skull, or does Red Skull go and the Hydra Troopers do not take actions until the next round?

In other words, does "Cut Off One Head..." trigger before or after the window that grunts have to activate before their parent?

Edited by Oscorp HR
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Red skull has an passive called cut off one head that states: if an allied Hydra trooper is not in play when this character is chosen to activate,place them in play within 1 of this character They gain the stagger condition and are part of your squad.

 

The question is how does the timing work here?

Scenario A: red skull is chosen to activate, there are no Hydra grunts on the field so cut off their head triggers and they are created within 1 with a stagger condition. The parent/child rules kick in and the grunt always goes before the parent so the grunts would then clear staggers and take one action then redskull would activate.

 

Scenario B: red skull is chosen to activate and there are no Hydra grunts in play. Cut off the head triggers and a grunt is out in play with a stagger condition. Since redskull has already been chosen to activate and triggered COOH the grunts do not get an activation this turn, they would have to wait a while round before clearing the stagger and getting one action?

 

 

Edited by BigBlake
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...

  

@BigBlake@Oscorp HR

When Red Skull, Master of Hydra is chosen to activate, we have two rules to consider.

The base Grunt rules that control how they activate

Quote

Grunt characters are not chosen to activate during a turn. Instead, if they do not have an Activated token, one Grunt character activates during a turn in which their Parent character is chosen to activate. Before the Parent character’s activation, the Grunt character activates. At the end of their activation your turn does not end and the Parent character activates.

And the "Cut off one head..." rule

Quote

If an allied Hydra Troopers is not in play when this character is chosen to activate, place them into play within range 1 of this character. They gain a stagger token and are part of your squad.

The scenario is "choose to activate Red Skull, Master of Hydra and there are no Hydra Troopers in play".

You can't resolve the Grunt activation rule at this point because the Grunts are not on the battlefield, so you resolve "Cut off one head..." and place them in play.

Then, as with all rules, we don't move past a trigger situation/timing step until all rules relevant to that point in time are resolved. This means we now check if there are any Grunts in play and we find that yes, there are Grunts now and we continue through the Grunt activation rules.

This means that yes, if no Hydra Troopers are in play when Red Skull, Master of Hydra is chosen to activate, the Hydra Troopers will be placed in play as a part of your squad and then activate before Red Skull, Master of Hydra

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...