Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

Recommended Posts

I'm wondering about an interaction between mysterio using the grand illusion and malekith/domino. As i'm seing it, if malekith or domino pays to count skulls as crits, they won't explode but still count as crit at the end. Is it correct ? Will they count as skull so no success?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...

Cloak of Shadows and Probability Manipulation are used directly after rolling the dice, so either step 6 when attacking or step 7 when defending. The failures that become criticals start doing so immediately at this point.

The Grand Illusion doesn't change the dice until step 9 of the attack sequence.

They will stay critical dice until they are modified to failures in step 9.

They will then immediately become critical dice again after the step that they were modified to failures is over. - This part has changed, see below

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Thoras changed the title to The grand illusion and probability manipulation
  • 4 weeks later...

The ruling on Probability Manipulation and Cloak of Shadows is changing.

Previously, the superpower would be used at the specified timing steps and then the effect of it allowed you to choose a failure to be treated as a critical at all steps of the timing sequences. This meant you could "overspend" and choose a failure at a step in the sequence other than when the superpower was used.

This will no longer be the case.

You are now required to have failures in your dice pool at the point you use the superpower in order to choose them. This means you can no longer pay for future results, as the results can only be chosen directly after using the superpower.

You will now pay to choose specific results(not dice) to be treated as critical results. Only results that exist at the point of paying may be chosen. If those results are modified(changed or rerolled) later, even if they are modified to the same result, the effect allowing them to be treated as another result is lost. I.E. If a die showing a failure is rerolled, even if that die rolls another failure, the result that the effect applied to(the original failure) is gone and thus the effect is gone.

You may still spend more power than you have failures available per the first sentence, it’s just any power spent over the number of failures currently available has no effect.

This change better aligns the rule to the printed rule on these cards.

This means once the Grand Illusion changes them back to failure results, they will remain failure results.

Edited by Thoras
Edited for clarity
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...