Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

The Grand Illusion vs. Cloak of Shadows/Probability Manipulation


Recommended Posts

The Question: Does 'The Grand Illusion' affect Failures treated as Criticals by the effect of Cloak of Shadows/Probability Manipulation?

 

Scenario 1:

Malekith the Accursed moves to be within range 3 of Mysterio. Afterwards, Mysterio activates and uses The Grand Illusion and then attacks Malekith with Hypnosis Gas. After rolling dice, Malekith has 2 Failures and spends 2 power for Cloak of Shadows to treat them as Criticals.

Scenario 2:

Domino moves to be within range 3 of Mysterio. Afterwards, Mysterio activates and uses The Grand Illusion and then attacks Domino with Hypnosis Gas. After rolling dice, Domino has 2 Failures and spends 2 power for Probability Manipulation to treat them as Criticals.

 

This question came up while I was discussing Malekith with some friends at the local game shop. The root of the disagreement was that there were no critical results actually rolled and since Cloak of Shadows/Probability Manipulation don't actually change the result of the die from a Failure to a Critical, that nothing would actually change for the results since they're Failures, not Criticals.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

14 hours ago, Tirend said:

Does 'The Grand Illusion' affect Failures treated as Criticals by the effect of Cloak of Shadows/Probability Manipulation?

Yes. 

Those Failures are now Criticals. Rules that affect Criticals will affect them. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

But with Malekith his dice can not be modified by the opponnent and Grand Illusion says "change" so in Malekith case he just not rolling in extra dice but nothing can be changed since Grand illusion does not say treat. Correct?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 hours ago, JClark said:

But with Malekith his dice can not be modified by the opponnent and Grand Illusion says "change" so in Malekith case he just not rolling in extra dice but nothing can be changed since Grand illusion does not say treat. Correct?

Conqueror of the Ten Realms prevents attackers from modifying their dice when attacking Malekith. 

Malekith’s dice can still be modified. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...