Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

Issuing orders with mercenary commanders in normal faction lists


Recommended Posts

Moin,

I'd like confirmation of the following statements regarding issuing orders and using command cards with mercenary commanders, to see if I understand everything correctly.

I've built a Rebel list with some mercenaries in it. I have a T-47 with Wedge as a field commander for the must of one Rebel commander. Then I have a Capo as a second commander with two squads of Pykes and Din Djarin as an operative. So for mercenary units it is two corps units, one commander and one operative. So I don't need Underworld Connections, everything is per the normal mercenary rules.

- Mercenary units can only receive orders from a commander of their own affiliation. So Wedge can't give orders to the Pyke units.

- Mercenary commanders can give order to units of their affiliation and all non mercenary units of the faction they are a part of for this game, Rebels in this instance. So since in my list I have Rebels and Pykes and the Capo is also a Pyke he can give orders to any unit in the army using Ploy, Aggression and Discretion. Ploy doesn't give out an order I know but I can put any order token of my army on this card.

- Wedge as a Rebel field commander is not able to use Ploy, Aggression and Discretion as he is not a mercenary unit.

- Generic command cards and faction command cards such as for example Standing Orders, Ambush and Covering Fire can be used by Wedge as a field commander but also by the Capo. The difference would be that Wedge can only order Rebel units with these and the Capo can order Rebels and his Pykes. Or can the Capo only use the non faction generic command cards Ambush, Push, Offensive and Standing Orders? The faction command cards Sabotaged Communications, Turning the Tide and Covering Fire say "Rebels only" but that refers to the faction of the army. The don't say that you specifically have to nominate a Rebel commander. Can the Capo use these or not?

Thank you for your help and greetings from Germany!

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hello,

8 hours ago, Graógramán said:

Mercenary units can only receive orders from a commander of their own affiliation. So Wedge can't give orders to the Pyke units.

Correct. The only exception would be a unit with the keyword "Allies of Convenience", who can issue orders to a mercenary unit as if they were affiliated. 

8 hours ago, Graógramán said:

Mercenary commanders can give order to units of their affiliation and all non mercenary units of the faction they are a part of for this game, Rebels in this instance. So since in my list I have Rebels and Pykes and the Capo is also a Pyke he can give orders to any unit in the army using Ploy, Aggression and Discretion. Ploy doesn't give out an order I know but I can put any order token of my army on this card.

Also correct. 

8 hours ago, Graógramán said:

Wedge as a Rebel field commander is not able to use Ploy, Aggression and Discretion as he is not a mercenary unit.

Correct for the reason you listed. 

9 hours ago, Graógramán said:

Generic command cards and faction command cards such as for example Standing Orders, Ambush and Covering Fire can be used by Wedge as a field commander but also by the Capo. The difference would be that Wedge can only order Rebel units with these and the Capo can order Rebels and his Pykes. Or can the Capo only use the non faction generic command cards Ambush, Push, Offensive and Standing Orders? The faction command cards Sabotaged Communications, Turning the Tide and Covering Fire say "Rebels only" but that refers to the faction of the army. The don't say that you specifically have to nominate a Rebel commander. Can the Capo use these or not?

The Capo can use the "Rebel only" cards you listed.  Here is a previously answered post with the same question: 

https://forums.atomicmassgames.com/topic/6775-faction-specific-generic-command-cards/ 

Hope that helps! 

TP

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...