Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

Guardian X and Poison X


Recommended Posts

Hi, I saw a question in here about Dioxis Mines and Guardian and that got me thinking about the below.

If a unit Guardians an attack with Poison X and the unit with Guardian X takes a wound, is it eligible to be a target for Poison X? It is my understanding that the unit using Guardian X is not the defending unit and is not eligible. However, Pierce X is has an exception carved out and I'm unsure if Poison X has a similar application effect and has been overlooked or if Pierce just has a special cutout in the rules.

Example: A B1 unit with the Radiation Cannon Trooper attacks a Phase 1 Clone trooper unit in no cover and rolls 3 hits. Obi-wan guardians those 3 hits and fails 1 save. Is the Phase 1 unit or Obi-wan eligible to be a recipient of the Poison X keyword, since neither unit technically defended? Are there other examples where it may work differently?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hey there,

In your example, the Phase 1 Clones would not take a Poison token (because they didn't fail a save) and Obi Wan would not take a Poison token (because he's not defending against the attack). There is no stipulation in the rules that creates an exception from this, only the following bullet from the RRG: 

  • A non-droid trooper unit that suffers wounds after defending against an attack that includes a weapon with the poison x keyword gains x poison tokens.

The same example would hold true against Bossk's "Merciless Munitions" command card, except the Phase 1 unit would take the poison token (as you just need to defend against the attack to gain the token in that example). 

TP

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...