Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

Seismic Charge detonation dealing 1 standard damage instead of units suffering damage

Recommended Posts

The adjustment to the detonation rule for Seismic Charges in the Rules Reference version 1.4.5, effective 6/9/2023 is as follows:

”When this device detonates, choose 1 obstacle at range 0–1. The obstacle deals 1 [standard] damage to each ship and remote at range 0–1. Then remove that obstacle.”

For reference, this is the rule from version 1.4.4, effective 10/28/2022:

“When this device detonates, choose 1 obstacle at range 0–1. Each ship and remote at range 0–1 of the obstacle suffers 1 [standard] damage. Then remove that obstacle.”

Page 9 in the current (and previous) Rules Reference describes a distinction between what is similar, but not exact wording in question above. Being dealt a damage card is described as something different than “suffering damage”:

“If an effect instructs a player to deal a damage card to a ship, this is different from the ship suffering damage. The card is dealt to the ship regardless of whether the ship has any (active shields).”

Is the ultimate outcome of the adjusted rule that ships and remotes still “suffer damage” like the previous version’s rule, such that ships with active shield charges flip them to inactive? Or is the intent that ships are dealt a damage card?

Thank you.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...

The ship or remote will still suffer one damage from the obstacle being detonated, to be resolved in the standard manner. The obstacle is not specifically dealing a damage card to the ship/remote.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Tim H locked this topic
This topic is now closed to further replies.
  • Create New...