Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

Move/Range Tools and the 2 tool limit


Recommended Posts

So according to the rulebook on page 16 under the measurement heading it seems to imply to me that a movement tool must always be used to measure a potential movement from a models base. And therefore cannot be used on the table to measure a distance while not attached to a models base.

And the same thing applies to a Range tool, where it is said it is used with one end touching an object.

So my questions are:

1 - Can you place a movement tool on the battlefield when it is not touching the model that is to move/be moved?

2 - Can you measure with a movement tool from your opponents models?

3 - Is the intent of the “2 tool limit” that you can use a movement tool from a model, a range tool from its intended target, and have a reasonable estimate on if the model will make range? But not from there to pick up a tool and then try to plan out future actions or reactions that may or may not occur after said movement is completed?

Thanks!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...
On 9/28/2023 at 6:27 PM, Will L. said:

So according to the rulebook on page 16 under the measurement heading it seems to imply to me that a movement tool must always be used to measure a potential movement from a models base. And therefore cannot be used on the table to measure a distance while not attached to a models base

The tool does not specifically need to be "attached" to something you would measure from.

On 9/28/2023 at 6:27 PM, Will L. said:

1 - Can you place a movement tool on the battlefield when it is not touching the model that is to move/be moved?

Yes

On 9/28/2023 at 6:27 PM, Will L. said:

2 - Can you measure with a movement tool from your opponents models?

Yes

On 9/28/2023 at 6:27 PM, Will L. said:

3 - Is the intent of the “2 tool limit” that you can use a movement tool from a model, a range tool from its intended target, and have a reasonable estimate on if the model will make range?

This is one way to use the premeasuring rules.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...