Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

Are area attacks an "attack"?


Recommended Posts

Hi everybody,

My question is if area attacks could be considered an attack for allies at range? I put an example. Cable A2 attack says: if this attack does damage after resolve heal 1.

So if Cable has 2 allies at range 2 and uses his area 2 attack, can he heal 2 points due he is attacking and damaging his friends?

 

Thanks in advance 

IMG-20210927-WA0000.jpg

IMG-20210927-WA0006.jpeg

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Allied characters can never be chosen as the target of an attack (page 18 of the online rulebook). Additionally, no effects of the attack can affect an allied character. This includes damage. These two rules mean the attack can never deal damage to them so Askani’son’s special rule will not trigger. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

4 hours ago, Sleboda said:

Just a follow up. 

Per the included image from the original question, allied characters do suffer 1 damage from area attacks that reach them.  Can you help me reconcile this with your comment "the attack can never deal damage to them" please?

The attack does not deal damage to them. That line in the core rulebook does.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 9/27/2021 at 7:01 PM, Negoldar said:

The attack does not deal damage to them. That line in the core rulebook does.

 

The damage being discussed is listed under Area Attacks and tells us to damage each friendly in the area,  but apply no other effects. How is that not the attack dealing damage? What is the consistent thought process we can apply to other rules involving damage that we can use to draw the line with damage from attacks?

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

11 hours ago, Sleboda said:

The damage being discussed is listed under Area Attacks and tells us to damage each friendly in the area,  but apply no other effects. How is that not the attack dealing damage? What is the consistent thought process we can apply to other rules involving damage that we can use to draw the line with damage from attacks?

Attack damage is dealt in step 12 of the timing chart in Appendix A. The beam/area attack never gets there when an allied character is in range of it because attacks cannot be made against allies (page 18 under Making an Attack). The rulebook states they take 1 damage and no other effects because the attack cannot be made against allied characters.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...