Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

Field dressing and activation phase


Recommended Posts

Hi folks,

I encountered a rules dilemma in a game yesterday.

I finish my last activation and the opposing player has no model without an activated or dazed token.

To my surprise he then plays Field Dressing, and activates that previously dazed character.

We continue playing as both he and a spectator say that this is how the card works according to official rulings. (Great game btw, fun and excelent opponent)

Something about that interaction grated on me so I looked at more than a few reps and saw other people doing excactly that but still I wasn’t convinced.

https://forums.atomicmassgames.com/topic/352-field-dressing-timing/?tab=comments#comment-1701

Here is the link to the official ruling and indeed you can field dress a character prior to activating it.

Then I dove into the rulebook and found this text on page 14:

“The Activation Phase ends when a player ends their turn and neither player has a character without an Activated or Dazed token.”

So if I’m interpreting this all correctly then by ending my turn the game should end the activation phase before giving my opponent a turn to play the field dressing. The activation phase simply ends without passing the turn over to him.

So seeing as this is seemingly (if my interpretation is right) widely played wrong I decoded to do this writeup before we throw down in the mid-leagues

Thanks for reading my textwall

Thor

Link to comment
Share on other sites

9 hours ago, Nehetar said:

So if I’m interpreting this all correctly then by ending my turn the game should end the activation phase before giving my opponent a turn to play the field dressing. The activation phase simply ends without passing the turn over to him.

This is correct given that you have no other characters to activate. Your opponent will not get another turn. They cannot play Field Dressing unless it is their turn so they cannot play it and activate a character prior to the end of the activation phase in this scenario. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...