Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

Frequently Asked Questions


Recommended Posts

This thread contains many frequently asked rules questions for Star Wars: X-Wing.

Most of these posts clarify specific interactions between ships, upgrades, and rules that aren't covered in the online Rules Reference. The rulings in these posts are considered official. Posts will be deleted if a ruling changes. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 4 weeks later...

Question: Does Zari Bangel (RZ-2 A-Wing) skip her Perform Action step if she partially executes a maneuver AND overlaps/moves through a gas cloud or asteroid at the same time?

Answer: Yes, she would skip her Perform Action step. Zari Bangel's Pilot Ability does not allow her to ignore the effects of obstacles. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: Does Chopper (crew) allow me to take a free action?

Answer: No, Chopper (crew) does not grant additional actions; he simply permits you to perform your standard Perform Action step action, even while stressed.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: While performing a special attack out of the rear arc, does Krassis Trelix's (Firespray-31) Pilot Ability trigger Outmaneuver when using a special weapon with a front arc attack restriction?

Answer: No. While Krassis Trelix can perform front arc special attacks from his rear arc, these attacks are still rear arc attacks; therefore, Outmaneuver does not trigger on these attacks.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: Can I choose to cancel either a hit result or critical result when using General Grievous (crew), or do I have to choose hit results before critical results.

Answer: You can choose. General Grievous' ability occurs after the Neutralize Results step, so there is no restriction as to whether hit results or critcal results must be canceled first.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: How does the Tie Defender Elite (configuration) upgrade work with Countess Ryad (Tie Defender)?

Answer: Countess Ryad’s ability is a replacement effect, which takes a straight maneuver, increases its difficulty, and replaces it with a Kiogran turn.  The replaced effect is treated as having not occurred and is no longer a straight maneuver, but a Kiogran turn.  If she has the TIE Defender Elite upgrade equipped, the difficulty of the maneuver is further increased to red.
 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: When my Trade Federation Drone (Vulture-class Droid Fighter) reloads his Energy-Shell Charges in the Perform Action step, do I have to gain one Disarm token?

Answer: Yes. The action granted by Energy-Shell Charges follows all of the rules for reload except step one: the card specifies that it must be chosen as the target of the reload. All other reload steps should be followed (step two: That card recovers one charge, and step three: The ship gains one disarm token). If a ship is able to perform a reload action from another source, this action may be taken in the same round.
 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: Can Darth Vader (TIE/D Defender) spend 1 force to use Foresight (Force Power) to attack an enemy ship in the Activation Phase?

Answer: No. Foresight's Force payment is the cost to resolve the ability, not the cost to perform the attack.  After an enemy ship executes a maneuver, Vader is not yet attacking, and therefore cannot pay the cost.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: When placing a ship with the Boba Fett (crew) upgrade at range 0 of an obstacle during the Place Forces step, does the ship suffer any of the effects of overlapping that obstacle?

Answer: No. You do not suffer the effects of obstacles if you are placed at range 0 during the Place Forces step.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: When exactly does the Autopilot Drone (Escape Craft) lose a charge?

Answer: Docking/undocking and the Autopilot Drone's Ship Ability resolve along with any other “During the System Phase” abilities, in sequence from the ship with the lowest initiative and continuing in ascending order.


Example 1: Autopilot Drone begins the System Phase docked.  At Initiative 1, the Autopilot Drone may undock.  Rigged Energy Cells does not enter the ability queue, as the Drone is in reserve, and no charge is lost even if it undocks.


Example 2: Autopilot Drone begins the System Phase undocked at range 0 of Lando’s Millennium Falcon.  At Initiative 1, both the docking ability and Rigged Energy Cells enter the ability queue.  If the Drone docks first, Rigged Energy Cells does not resolve as it is in reserve.  Alternatively, it may resolve Rigged Energy Cells first, then dock.
 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: Can Lieutenant Tavson (Upsilon-class Shuttle) trigger his Pilot Ability twice if he suffers two damage in a single attack?

Answer: Yes, when a ship suffers damage, that damage is suffered one at a time. If Lieutenant Tavson has unspent charges and is not restricted from performing actions by other effects, he may resolve his Pilot Ability after each damage suffered.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: When placing ships using the Hyperspace Tracking Data (Tech) upgrade, can I only choose from initiative 1-5?

Answer:  No, before placing forces, you may choose one of the following numbers: 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, or 6. Treat your initiative as the chosen value during Setup.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: Can a ship perform a linked action when using Pattern Analyzer (Tech)?

Answer: Yes. The linked action resolves in the timing window "after you perform an action" which, in this case, precedes "before the Check Difficulty step".

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: If I Coordinate a ship that has a stress token, does the Coordinate action fail?

Answer: No. The Coordinate action only fails when no valid ship (ie. "another friendly ship") is chosen. The Coordinate would succeed, regardless of the chosen ship's ability to resolve the rest of the effect.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: If Arvel Crynyd (RZ-1 A-wing) is attacking at range zero while both ships are overlapping an gascloud is the attack obstructed?

Answer: Yes, if a ship capable of attacking at range 0 (such as Arvel Crynyd via his pilot ability) is attacking another ship at range 0, and there is an obstacle where range 0 is measured, the attack is considered obstructed.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: When defending with Zam Wesell (Firespray-class Patrol Craft, Crew) and the "You Should Thank Me" condition card, can I still acquire a lock on the attacker if none of my charges are spent?

Answer: Yes. These abilities are sequential and Zam Wesell may acquire a lock whether or not she recovered a charge.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: Can I use Rose Tico's (Crew) ability to spend the die result given by the Freelance Slicer (Crew) upgrade?

Answer: No. Freelance Slicer resolves before the Roll Attack Dice step. Rose Tico resolves during a Modify Dice step. Rose Tico’s ability never has access to spend the Freelance Slicer’s die result due to their distinct timing windows.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: What happens to a ship using Qi'ra (Crew) to ignore a locked obstacle it is overlapping if that lock is removed? 

Answer: The ship suffers the effects of being at range 0 of the obstacle, but not the effects of moving through it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: Does Damaged Engine (critical damage card) affect the difficulty of sideslip maneuver?

Answer: No. Sideslips are not turn maneuvers and do not interact with Damaged Engine.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: How does Weapons Failure (critical damage card) interact with Sunny Bounder's (M3-A Interceptor) Pilot Ability? Can I add a matching result if I only rolled 1 attack die?

Answer: Yes, if Sunny Bounder rolls only 1 die while attacking or defending, she may add a matching result with her ability.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: When attacking a ship equipped with False Transponder Codes (Illicit) using XX-23 S-Thread Tracers (Missile), which ship receives the jam token?

Answer: If an XX-23 S-Thread Tracers attack is successful, locks are assigned one at a time by the attacking player.  Against a ship equipped with False Transponder Codes, the attacking player effectively chooses the ship to be jammed by assigning the corresponding lock first.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question: Can Darth Vader (TIE Advanced x1) use his ability to repair Wounded Pilot (critical damage card) before it triggers?

Answer: Yes. Darth Vader (TIE Advanced x1)'s Pilot Ability and Wounded Pilot (Critical Damage Card) resolve during the same timing window. A player may choose to resolve the Pilot Ability first and use the granted action to repair Wounded Pilot. If they do, the effect of Wounded Pilot will not resolve, since the Critical Damage is no longer in play.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest AMG_Luke

Question: Can a ship equipped with Emperor Palpatine (Crew) spend a Force charge to use a Ship or Pilot Ability on the target ship?
Answer: No. Emperor Palpatine functions as if the ship had spent a force for the normal effect of spending a Force charge. A ship equipped with Emperor Palpatine (Crew) can either spend 1 Force charge while a friendly ship is performing an attack to change one of its Focus results to a Hit result, or while a friendly ship is defending to change one of its Focus results to an Evade result.

Question: Can a ship equipped with Emperor Palpatine (Crew) spend a Force charge to change Darth Vader’s (TIE/D Defender) results while he is defending?
Answer: Yes. The ship equipped with Emperor Palpatine (Crew) is spending the Force charge, and not Darth Vader (TIE/D Defender).

Question: Can a ship equipped with Emperor Palpatine (Crew) spend a Force charge to change a Blank result to a Hit result while Darth Vader (TIE/D Defender) is performing an attack?
Answer: No. Emperor Palpatine’s (Crew) effect can only be used for the normal effect of spending a Force charge. Additionally, the ship equipped with Emperor Palpatine (Crew) is spending the Force charge, and not Darth Vader (TIE/D Defender).

Question: Does the ability on Padmé Amidala (Naboo Royal N-1 Starfighter) prevent a ship equipped with Emperor Palpatine (Crew) from modifying another ship’s focus result after that ship has already modified one of it’s Focus results and it is in Padmé Amidala’s (Naboo Royal N-1 Starfighter) primary arc?
Answer: No. The ship equipped with Emperor Palpatine (Crew) is modifying that ship’s second Focus result, and not that ship itself.

Question: Can a ship equipped with Emperor Palpatine (Crew) spend a Force charge as a part of the cost for the pilot ability of a friendly Fifth Brother (TIE Advanced v1) or a friendly Seventh Sister (TIE Advanced v1)?
Answer: No. Emperor Palpatine’s (Crew) effect can only be used for the normal effect of spending a Force charge. Additionally, the ship equipped with Emperor Palpatine (Crew) is spending the Force charge, and not the other friendly ship.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Additional clarification of certain game terms:

Assign: a broad term that applies to tokens, dials, conditions, etc., linking them to a ship.

Transfer: moving a token or lock to another ship (remove from one, and assign to the other).

Gain: a term specific to tokens; describes any instance of getting a token.

Acquire: a term specific to locks; describes any instance of getting a lock.  If a ship is instructed to acquire a lock, the object it locks must be at range 0-3 unless otherwise specified. Transferred locks are not subject to this restriction.

Example 1: Hera Syndulla locks Soontir Fel.  Hera acquires a lock.  Soontir gains a lock token, corresponding to Hera’s lock.

Example 2: Hera then transfers her lock to Derek Klivian.  Derek acquires the lock.  The lock token on Soontir is replaced with Derek’s corresponding token to indicate this.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...

Additional clarifications of some specific cards

Question: What color is the Boost action that BB-8's (Resistance Transport Pod) pilot ability permits during the System Phase?
Answer: BB-8's System Phase Barrel Roll and Boost are both red.

Question: What color is the Barrel Roll and SLAM action on Overdrive Thruster (Modification)
Answer: Overdrive Thruster refers to a red Boost, red Barrel Roll, and red SLAM.

Question: Does Maneuver-Assist MGK-300 (Configuration) reduce the difficulty of all the bank maneuvers?
Answer: Maneuver-Assist MGK-300 applies only to the 3 banks, not 1 or 2.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...