Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

Follow me + Wife of Corvus Glaive


Recommended Posts

I’ve seen a few rulings here that state that the tactic card Follow Me doesn’t allow for an already activated character to activate again per page 14 of the rule book. 
 

I am confused because the card Follow Me does not specify as the ability Wife of Corvus Glaive (and the corresponding ability on Corvus) “If the allied Corvus Glaive does not have an activated token, he may activate before you turn the card ends”. The card Follow me has no such if statement and therefore clearly doesn’t have the same modifier. 
 

It seems that Follow Me is clearly an exception to the normal activation rules and falls within page 2 “rules priority” which states “Some special rules, superpowers, or team tactics cards will contradict these rules. When they do the special rule takes precedence over the rules found here”. 
 

When we have evidence of clearly worded abilities, like the husband and wife abilities,  that clearly state the requirement of not having an activation token (why would they restate this if it’s not important) and we have the “rules priority” clause in the rule book that states the cards are correct when they contradict the rules. All signs point to us having to play follow me as it’s written until an errata is made to clarify it in the same way the other abilities do. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The lack of limiting text does not inherently provide permission for a thing to happen,  what you need to be looking for instead is text that explicitly provides permission to override/interact with other rules.

What you are describing with wife of Corvus glaive (and various other rules - see ornery on the recently released rhino) is that some rules will at times include reminder text that calls out limitations that inherently exist.

This is the same reason why a rule that allows you to “reroll all dice” does not allow you to reroll failures. You need a rule explicitly providing permission to reroll failures in order to override the core rule that they can’t be rerolled.

The same holds true for all interactions, the rule needs to provide an explicit permission/reference to contradict something. The lack of text referencing it is not itself contradicting it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Fair point, but by your first paragraph stating “what you need to be looking for instead is text that explicitly provides permission to override/interact with other rules.” contradicts the “rules priority” text in the rule book. There would be no point in printing that text in the rule book if this was actually true. Why would the “rules priority” be created if all powers that contradict the rules will give permission to override/interact with the rules? 
 

Also to your point here “This is the same reason why a rule that allows you to “reroll all dice” does not allow you to reroll failures. You need a rule explicitly providing permission to reroll failures in order to override the core rule that they can’t be rerolled.” This is a good example of how if there were another example of an ability that said “reroll all dice except failures”, then it would make sense that the first rule you mentioned was designed to not have that verbiage and therefore is taking advantage of the “rules priority” and allowing all dice to be rerolled. 

I appreciate your points and wonder if you can help me understand these logical counter points that leave me wondering if this is actually the case. Thanks! 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Page 5, Effects, covers this. 

A rule that says something can happen, like “reroll all” or “choose another character…the chosen character activates” does not override a rule like “failures cannot be reroll” or “a character with an Activated token can’t be chosen to activate” with explicitly addressing the second rule the way Miles Morales’ leadership does. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Interesting, seems like it’s consensus it’s a no. I see a lot of grey area and hope the card gets errata to be more clear and not have to dig through the rules to make it clear. 
 

Thank you Negoldar, for the response. When reading that rule it seems that rule specifically states that it’s talking about effects “superpowers, attacks, special rules, team tactics, or crisis cards” and then referring to two of those effects interacting. Not a rule in the main rule book and a tactic card. That’s where the “rules priority” comes into effect. 
 

Either way, I won’t beat a dead horse. And I respect where you’re all coming from and I think from a spirit of the law you’re all right I’m just not sure the letter is as clear as it could be. Thanks again to both @Negoldar and @Thoras for your support! I’m new (about a month) to this game and really loving it. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...