Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

Recommended Posts

  • Thoras locked this topic
  • 1 month later...

The ruling on Probability Manipulation and Cloak of Shadows is changing.

Previously, the superpower would be used at the specified timing steps and then the effect of it allowed you to choose a failure to be treated as a critical at all steps of the timing sequences. This meant you could "overspend" and choose a failure at a step in the sequence other than when the superpower was used.

This will no longer be the case.

You are now required to have failures in your dice pool at the point you use the superpower in order to choose them. This means you can no longer pay for future results, as the results can only be chosen directly after using the superpower.

You will now pay to choose specific results(not dice) to be treated as critical results. Only results that exist at the point of paying may be chosen. If those results are modified(changed or rerolled) later, even if they are modified to the same result, the effect allowing them to be treated as another result is lost. I.E. If a die showing a failure is rerolled, even if that die rolls another failure, the result that the effect applied to(the original failure) is gone and thus the effect is gone.

You may still spend more power than you have failures available per the first sentence, it’s just any power spent over the number of failures currently available has no effect.

This change better aligns the rule to the printed rule on these cards.

Edited by Thoras
Edited for clarity
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Thoras unlocked this topic

What about if there are 2 skulls in the initial role and you pay for one of them to be treated as a crit, then using any available re-roll mechanic you re-roll the skull that was treated as a skull into another other than skull result.
Does the second skull now counts as a crit or is the effect attached to the dice?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

32 minutes ago, Sz4r1ej said:

What about if there are 2 skulls in the initial role and you pay for one of them to be treated as a crit, then using any available re-roll mechanic you re-roll the skull that was treated as a skull into another other than skull result.
Does the second skull now counts as a crit or is the effect attached to the dice?

Based on your question, I think there is a typo in this sentence "...then using any available re-roll mechanic you re-roll the skull that was treated as a skull (Should this be critical?) into another other than skull result."

If that's correct, then the answer is no, the remaining failure does not get treated as a critical now.

The effect is not attached to a specific die, but a specific result. The difference is that if it was attached to a die and that die was rerolled into another failure, it would still count as a critical. When choosing a result, if you change that result in any way, its now gone. So even if it was rerolled into a failure, the effect is lost, because the specific result that was chosen is gone(Which is how it now works)

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...