Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

Can a tool be used to mark a place on the mat in premeasurement?


Recommended Posts

If I am measuring range 3 from a mini, and also trying to measure range 1 from another point on the board, can I use a movement tool to mark the edge of the range 3, put my range 3 ruler away and then use a range ruler to establish range 1 from another point, while using the movement tool as a reference for the previously measured range 3 distance?

(1) By my understanding, this sort of measurement would be illegal in the case of a move, explicitly because the movement would still have to be measured using a movement tool, it could not be "eyeballed" per the below ruling on movement.

 

(2) What about in the case of a placement that does not require a movement tool, such as Thanos's Cosmic Portal, Storm's X-Men Gold or Medusa's Royal Decree - can a movement tool be used to mark a place on the board that has been premeasured using a range tool?  Because no movement tool is involved, the movement tool is not needed.  If a movement tool is used to mark the edge of a Range tool, the movement tool is not being used for an effect called for by the rules, and effectively provides the same information that using two range tools would provide.
 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Under measurement, on page 8 at the time of asking, the rule book gives some great guidance for measuring distance. 

For ease of reference: "Any distance that is measured using a measurement tool can be measured at any time, but players may only use one range tool and one movement tool at a time when making measurements during the game."  And later, "When measuring distance, place the appropriate tool with its end in contact with the object or characters base being measured from - the object or character making the attack or using the relevant action or ability."

Is there a difference between measuring and premeasuring when applying these rules?  Effectively, is "premeasuring" bound by these same rules of measuring distance?  Is it required to attach the end in contact with an object or character and a specific attack, action or ability to measure? 

Or can this be as simple as you can you "premeasure" anything at any time, so long as you stick to the one of each tool rule?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 7/27/2021 at 5:18 PM, Shadow Marvel said:

What if you place a movement tool against a base and then approximate with your eyes what the base would be, then place the movement tool again on the table to get an idea of where you would land for, let’s say, a double move. 

You can use two measurement tools - one of each type - and that is all. Attempting to estimate a distance is not measuring.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 7/28/2021 at 3:06 PM, fingerguns said:

Or can this be as simple as you can you "premeasure" anything at any time, so long as you stick to the one of each tool rule?

This is this simple. The specifics of how to measure are there for players who are not used to using tools or other devices to measure distances in tabletop games.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...