Jump to content
Welcome! ×
Atomic Mass Games Forum

Domino Probability Manipulation and Rerolls


Recommended Posts

Domino rolls hit skull skull wild. Pays two power for probability manipulation. Rolls in two dice, rolling hit skull. Can domino reroll one of the skull results being treated as a critical result (similar to Corvus with reality), and apply the Probability Manipulation effect to a different skull result (like the new skull rolled in from the skull being treated as a critical result)?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Thoras locked this topic
  • Thoras unlocked this topic

Why is it that you can do this when the ability says choose one skull, would that not lock the count as crit to the skull you chose? And I'm assuming the same applies to cloak of shadows for malekith 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...

The ruling on Probability Manipulation and Cloak of Shadows is changing.

Previously, the superpower would be used at the specified timing steps and then the effect of it allowed you to choose a failure to be treated as a critical at all steps of the timing sequences. This meant you could "overspend" and choose a failure at a step in the sequence other than when the superpower was used.

This will no longer be the case.

You are now required to have failures in your dice pool at the point you use the superpower in order to choose them. This means you can no longer pay for future results, as the results can only be chosen directly after using the superpower.

You will now pay to choose specific results(not dice) to be treated as critical results. Only results that exist at the point of paying may be chosen. If those results are modified(changed or rerolled) later, even if they are modified to the same result, the effect allowing them to be treated as another result is lost. I.E. If a die showing a failure is rerolled, even if that die rolls another failure, the result that the effect applied to(the original failure) is gone and thus the effect is gone.

You may still spend more power than you have failures available per the first sentence, it’s just any power spent over the number of failures currently available has no effect.

This change better aligns the rule to the printed rule on these cards.

Edited by Thoras
Edited for clarity
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Is Domino still able to overpay during the "pay any amount of power" step but only has one window to convert skulls to crits? 

Essentially I am asking if she can dump power into it even without rolling any Skulls?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

38 minutes ago, GhostDeer said:

Does this change affect the Reality Gem as well?

No. The Reality Gem is Innate, so at all points during the roll, 1 Skull is counted as a Critical. 

8 minutes ago, Omnus said:

Is Domino still able to overpay during the "pay any amount of power" step

Yes, this ruling still allows a character to "overpay" with more Power than there are Skull results. This "overpaid" Power is then lost and does not affect any future or changed Skulls.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...